Find Articles - HIST 342 - The World Since 1945 - LibGuides at California State University, Northridge

Recommended Databases/Secondary Sources

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 1,800 journals as well as dissertations on the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered by \America: History & Life\)"
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
China: Trade, Politics & Culture 1793-1980 This link opens in a new window
Collection of English-language sources relating to China and the West, 1793-1980. Provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.

Find Articles/Primary Sources

American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
Collection contains searchable, digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century, chronicling the development of America across 150 years.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of The Times (London, England).
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times from 1851-2012.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-2014).

Washington Post

Washington Post (Washington, D.C. : 1974). Washington Post Co., 1974

The Library's online full-text access and coverage of The Washington Post can be found by clicking the above OneSearch link.
Please note that we do not have all years of coverage available electronically. We do carry some historical coverage via microfilm access

Summary holdings: (Microfilm=1973-2007).