Skip to main content
Skip to Library Help widget

Nursing

This research guide is for the Department of Nursing. Use it to find resources and conduct research in nursing via the Oviatt Library

Welcome, Nursing students!

 Welcome to your Nursing Research Guide!  This guide will give you tips on how to find books, articles, and journals,  and how to cite your sources

If you need help or additional l information or if you have suggestions to improve this subject guide, please do contact me.  I am eager to meet you:by zoom or by email!  You can arrange an appointment by email  mhenry@csun.edu  or call 818-677-3012 and leave amessage. I will return your telephone call.

Please be aware that  our catalog, articles, audiovisuals can be identified by using   OneSearch .  However, OneSearch does NOT offer you the full contents of databases such as CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health), so it is necessary to go directly into the EbscoHost database(s), as well as using One Search.

The following links are given to demonstrate how to find journals and how to find books  using our advanced search with our new OneSearch. Please follow each link to  see retrievals for two different search strategies in One Search

 

Nursing: Types of Research

Search Strategies

Example of APA style for a scholarly peer reviewed article

Example of an APA 7th style 

 
Ramsey, C. A. (2000). Storytelling can be a valuable teaching aid. AORN Journal, 72(3), 497-499.   https://10.1016/S0001-2092(06)61281-7

 

The following links take you into the Ebsco database CINAHLPlus with Full Text, the column on the right has a link to Cite. Press on the Cite link, and be sure to scroll down to APA 6th

.

Citing your sources- APA style 7th edition

This guide is a quick introduction to the American Psychological Association (APA) 7th Edition Style for citations, basic format, and sample annotated bibliography. Please be sure to consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th edition and/or the APA Style website for additional details.

There is a print copy available  in Reserves (4th floor, east wing) for a two hour checkout.

Most Notable changes from APA 6th edition to 7th edition

  1. Publisher location is NOT included for book citations.

  2. In-text citations from works with three or more authors is shortened from the first time mentioned to (Hernandez et al., 2020)

  3. Include up to 20 authors in the reference.

  4. DOIs need to be formatted as clickable URLs such as https://doi.org/10.1126/sciadv.1400256   

  5. Don’t include “Retrieved from” in front of a URL unless a retrieval date is needed.

  6. For website citation include the website name, unless it is the same as the author.

  7. Clear guidelines for citing media contributors that are not authors or editors.

Media type

     Include as author

 Film 

 Director 

TV series

Executive Producers

 Podcast 

Host or Executive Producer

Webinar 

Instructor 

Online Streaming Video

Person/Group who uploaded the video

  1. Citation examples are provided for different types of online sources including: podcasts, youtube videos, and social media posts.  

  2. Use the singular “they” as a gender neutral pronoun instead of he or she.

  3. Clear format guidelines are provided for student and professional research papers.

  4. More flexibility in font choices/size and include:

    1. Calibri 11

    2. Arial 11

    3. Lucida Sans Unicode 10

    4. Times New Roman 12

    5. Georgia 11

  5. The running head on the title page no longer includes the words Running head. It now only includes the title of the paper and the page number.

  6. Student papers do not need to include a running head. (Unless specified from your instructor)

  7. At the end of a sentence, use one space instead of two.

EndNote Basic tutorials

Citation managers are software that keep track of your sources and will help format your citations in a variety of styles.

  • EndNote Web (currently called EndNote Basic , EndNote Online) - free to CSUN students, staff, and faculty; integrates with MS Word and several browsers (IE, Firefox); can export references directly from many databases.   You can contact EndNote help desk, Monday-Friday, 6 am (Pacific time) - 5pm at 800-336-4474. 
  • EndNote Tutorials on YouTube - choose a video that matches your personal computer (https://www.youtube.com/user/EndNoteTraining/videos

Document Reader