Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

Nursing

This research guide is for the Department of Nursing. Use it to find resources and conduct research in nursing via the CSUN University Library

Communication Disorders, Nursing, Physical Therapy, Assistive Technologies Librarian- contact information: email: mhenry@csun.edu ' (818)677-3012

Profile Photo
Marcia Henry
Contact:
California State University Northridge
818-677-3012
Website

Point of Care Mobile apps

These Point of Care apps are not available through CSUN University Library subscription databases, but you might have access through your workplace.

Some of these apps also have free versions (though free content might be limited).

Websites

 

 In addition to the following freely available web sites, the Library owns many medical textbooks both in print and online.

Clinical calculations

            Uses fill-in-the-blank formulas to complete the calculations.  Website author states clearly that “all calculations must be re-checked and should not be used alone to guide patient care.”  Locate formulas by medical specialty or by body system.

 

Dictionaries

            Initiative led by Ole Daniel Enersen, a Norwegian medical historian, to copile a biographical dictionary of medical eponyms.  Brief entries include biographical information and characteristics of the medical disorder.  Current contents include over 8,000 eponyms, more than 4,000 people and main entries.  Search using a list of categories, by keyword, or by a person’s last name.

 Medical Texts

            Enhanced online version of print Merck Manuals, a series of healthcare books for practitioners and consumers (Merck Home Health Handbook for Patients and Caregivers)  Includes multimedia such as images, audio and video materials.  Search by using the alphabetical index or a list of disorders by body system.
 

Drug information

Gateway to selected information on 17,000 drugs from the National Library of Medicine and other federal government agencies.  Tracks drugs from first use in clinical trials through full availability.  Some international coverage.  Searching by trade name or generic name.
Authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.  Search using an alphabetical list.  Does not include drugs in clinical trials.
 

Lab tests

Developed by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry in collaboration with professional associations in laboratory science for patients and practitioners to understand lab tests used for diagnosis and treatment.  Each entry includes a list of the resources used by the author(s).
 

Patient education information

 
Current health information from federal government agencies and professional associations reviewed by physicians.  Search by keyword or by alphabetical index within format type (e.g., illustrated encyclopedia, dictionary, directories, news)

Statistics

 

 

 

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources