Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to Library Help widget

Asian American Studies

Welcome to the Asian American Studies Subject Guide. Use the left navigation links to learn about the kinds of Asian American Studies resources available to CSUN students and faculty.

Subject Databases

A subject database is a collection of specialized information with a narrow focus. The best part of a subject database is that it can help refine your search results, saving you lots of time.

OneSearch

What is OneSearch? 

OneSearch is the University Library's searching tool to locate book, ebooks, articles, videos and more provided by the Library. OneSearch has been adopted by all 23 CSU libraries giving the CSU system a shared platform to collaborate and share resources. 

What am I searching with OneSearch? 

By default, with OneSearch you are searching the following University Library collections together: 

  • Articles - A interdisciplinary collection of millions of articles from numerous databases and providers. 

  • Books and Media (CSUN) - Books, ebooks, DVDs, music, streaming media and more available through the University Library. This also includes material located in the Teacher Curriculum Center, Music & Media, Map Library, and Special Collections & Archives.

Additionally the following collections are not included in the default search, but can be selected by the user: 

  • Course Reserves - Course materials placed in the library by professors and available for short term checkout. 

  • All CSU Libraries (CSU+) -Includes the books and media collections of all 23 campus libraries as well as articles that can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. 

Search Tips

Boolean Searches

  • AND: searches for all of the search terms.  Using *and* in between search terms will narrow your search.  For example
    • women AND STEM  
  • OR: searches for at least one of the search terms.  Using *or* in between search terms will broaden your search. For example: 
    • women OR female 
  • Phrase searches
    • Use quotation marks (“ “) around the words that you want to searched together as a phrase. For example:
      • "Science Technology Engineering and Mathematics" 
      • "United States"
  • Wildcard searches
    • The use of the asterisk symbol (*) to create searches where there are unknown characters, multiple spellings or various endings. .  For example: 
      • latin* (retrieves "latin," "latins," "latino," "latinos," "latina," "latinas")

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources