Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to Library Help widget

Asian American Studies

Welcome to the Asian American Studies Subject Guide. Use the left navigation links to learn about the kinds of Asian American Studies resources available to CSUN students and faculty.

What is a Primary Source?

Finding Archival Collections in Other Libraries

Numerous archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories around the United States and world include archival materials in their collections which are open to visiting researchers. Archival materials are described as collections, and primarily consist of unpublished records created by a person, family, or organization in the conduct of their affairs, kept because of their ongoing value. Archival collections are usually accessed via finding aids, invetories, registers, or other descriptive tools that are similar to the Table of Contents in a book.

If you try the three methods described below and still can't find what you're looking for, email us for assistance.

Finding Digital Archives

If you aren't sure where to start, try using the search feature on one of these digital archival collections. Remember that a digital archive is similar in purpose to a physical archive, but the historical documents and objects that provide evidence of the past have been digitized. 

Asian American Archival Collections

This is a list of some of the many collections related to Asian American Studies in libraries and museums. Remember that not all collections are digitized on this list. An archive is a place in which public records or historical documents are preserved. Archives contain archival materials, which "are information objects that serve as evidence of past events" (Peter Van Garderen, 2007). 

 

Need more help?

If you need more assistance with Digital Collections or Archives at CSUN contact: 

Phone: (818) 677-4594
E-Mail: asksca@csun.edu

Additional Libguides 

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources