This webpage provides resources to begin your search for primary source rhetorical artifacts.
Criminal Justice Information See various websites for reports, testimony, press releases, and other artifacts.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.
GovInfo (Formerly Federal Digital System FDsys) Includes recent primary sources of information from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the Federal government. Executive includes: Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, State of the Union Addresses, and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. In addition, reports, investigations, and findings from federal agencies are included. Legislative includes congressional bills, U.S. Code, Congressional Record (debates and proceedings from both houses of Congress), and Committee Reports (committee reports and recommendations for bills), and hearings. Judicial includes Supreme Court opinions and oral arguments.
HeinOnline A searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) Provides access to primary U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized secondary resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.
OneSearch In addition to book, microform, periodical, and media holdings of the Library, it also lists Congressional Hearings and other government documents received by the Library, many with links to the full text.
ProQuest Global NewsStream Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.
Westlaw Legal search engine pulling from proprietary resources such as the West Key Number System, KeyCite, notes of decisions, and added search terms. Westlaw allows users to find cases, statutes, court rules, regulations, briefs, and legal news.
Streaming video collection of famous speeches in their entirety by some of the greatest speakers of the 20th and 21st centuries. Includes introduction detailing historical context, significance and the rhetorical devices found in each speech.
A great source for the text of speeches about social issues by experts and celebrities. Browse by date or search by keyword using the Academic Search Premier database.
A searchable library of over 200,000 hours of videos from all three C-SPAN networks covering federal politics in the United States.
This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS.
Do a search using the keywords 'speeches' and the name of the person. You can also search by subject 'speeches, addresses' in the Advanced Search option.
For more on finding streaming videos, see the Library's Streaming Video guide.
Archive of speeches, from films and recorded audio.
African American Speeches. Offers background information, transcripts, and audio.
Contains the talks from the Technology, Entertainment, Design conference.
Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World
Speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary women from around the world. It only includes transcripts for included speeches.
The Guardian: Great Speeches of the 20th Century
History Channel: Famous Speeches
Contains video and audio for famous speeches on a multitude of topics.
The History Place: Great Speeches Collection
The Miller Center is a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy and political thinking.
Search by name and/or event and speech or debate.
Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources. Resources on this page may require Document Viewers
