This webpage provides resources to begin your search for primary source rhetorical artifacts.
American Periodical Series Online (ProQuest) Collection contains searchable, digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century, chronicling the development of America across 150 years.
American State Papers, 1789-1838 Digital retrospective collection of largely Congressional, but also Executive, primary source materials illuminating key moments in early American history as they occurred and influential decisions as they were made.
Chicago Defender (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Full-text digital archive of the influential black newspaper Chicago Defender.
Congressional Record Debates and proceedings from both houses of Congress, 1874 to present. See also GovInfo.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-2014).
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times from 1851-2012.
OneSearch In addition to book, microform, periodical, and media holdings of the Library, it also lists Congressional Hearings and other government documents received by the Library, many with links to the full text.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States 1929 to present.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Contains all of the full text reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, which constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history from 1817 to 1886; and it will eventually cover up to 1980. Also links to American State Papers, legislative and executive documents, 1789-1838.
U.S. History in Digital Government Documents University Library guide links to examples of online U.S. federal government information that will be of interest to those doing historical research.
Streaming video collection of famous speeches in their entirety by some of the greatest speakers of the 20th and 21st centuries. Includes introduction detailing historical context, significance and the rhetorical devices found in each speech.
A great source for the text of speeches about social issues by experts and celebrities. Browse by date or search by keyword using the Academic Search Premier database.
A searchable library of over 200,000 hours of videos from all three C-SPAN networks covering federal politics in the United States.
This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS.
Do a search using the keywords 'speeches' and the name of the person. You can also search by subject 'speeches, addresses' in the Advanced Search option.
For more on finding streaming videos, see the Library's Streaming Video guide.
Archive of speeches, from films and recorded audio.
African American Speeches. Offers background information, transcripts, and audio.
Contains the talks from the Technology, Entertainment, Design conference.
Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World
Speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary women from around the world. It only includes transcripts for included speeches.
The Guardian: Great Speeches of the 20th Century
History Channel: Famous Speeches
Contains video and audio for famous speeches on a multitude of topics.
The History Place: Great Speeches Collection
The Miller Center is a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy and political thinking.
Search by name and/or event and speech or debate.
Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources. Resources on this page may require Document Viewers
