LibGuides: COMS 446: Rhetoric of Crime and Punishment: Newspapers

Newspaper Sources

The following news databases and websites will help you locate news sources from the local, national, international, and ethnic press, including current and historical.

Current News

ProQuest Global NewsStream
Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.

Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History
Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Online resource covering today's hottest social issues. Features viewpoint articles.
CountryWatch
Provides comprehensive geopolitical and socioeconomic information, data, and news on the recognized countries of the world.

Local News

Daily News The Daily News is the major newspaper published in the San Fernando Valley from 1985 to present. Under its former titles: Van Nuys News and Valley Green Sheet, Valley News and Green Sheet, Valley News, Van Nuys News, Van Nuys News and Green Sheet, the Library carries on microfilm from 1916.
Daily Sundial California State University, Northridge online campus newspaper.
Los Angeles Times
Los Angeles Sentinel An African American owned and operated newspaper that puts emphasis on issues concerning the African American community and its readers.
La Opinion is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Los Angeles.

Historical News

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Digital archive of more than 270 historically significant African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
America's Historical Newspapers
Digital archive of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922
Digital archive of American historical newspapers from California, selected from America's Historical Newspapers.
Chicago Defender
Full-text digital archive of the influential black newspaper Chicago Defender.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Digital archive of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, many published bilingually in Spanish and English.

Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press University of Arizona Libraries' digital collection of 20 significant Mexican and Mexican American publications, many in Spanish, published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora. Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-2014).

Los Angeles Sentinel An African American owned and operated newspaper that puts emphasis on issues concerning the African American community and its readers.

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times from 1851-2012.

La Opinion is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Los Angeles.

Times Digital Archive
Complete digital edition of The Times (London, England).

Undercover Reporting This website, a collaboration with NYU Libraries, collects many decades of high-impact, sometimes controversial, mostly U.S-generated journalism that used undercover techniques. It grew out of the research for the book, Undercover Reporting: The Truth About Deception (Northwestern University Press, 2012).