Psychology

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

• The mission of AACAP is to promote the healthy development of children, adolescents, and families through advocacy, education, and research, and to meet the professional needs of child and adolescent psychiatrists throughout their careers.

American Psychiatric Association

• This professional association provides a wide variety of information on mental disorders, including the consumer-oriented "Let's Talk Facts" brochures, and a whole lot more for psychiatrists and lay people. The site is hierarchical in its information presentation, requiring the reader to access sub-menu after sub-menu to get to useful content. Check the link Other Organizations to find links to additional Mental Health Resources.

American Psychological Association

• Provides useful information for students of psychology, journal information, press releases, and professional information related to the psychological profession. It also serves as an online publishing mirror for the psychologist's monthly newspaper, the APA Monitor, offering listings from their continuing education calendar, classified ads, and select full-text articles every month. A suggested way to navigate the site is to click on the Site Map link.

National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)

• NAMI, the National Alliance on Mental Illness, is the nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness.

Mental Health America (MHA)

• Mental Health America (MHA) – founded in 1909 – is the nation's leading community-based nonprofit dedicated to addressing the needs of those living with mental illness and to promoting the overall mental health of all Americans

National Institute of Mental Health (NIHM)

• US government agency "working to improve mental health through biomedical research on mind, brain, and behavior." Provides information on diagnosis and treatment of mental illnesses and resources for locating mental health services. Key features also include Research and Funding along with Breaking News about recent developments in the field.

Society for the Teaching of Psychology

• The Society for the Teaching of Psychology advances understanding of the discipline by promoting excellence in the teaching and learning of psychology. The Society provides resources and services, access to a collaborative community, and opportunities for professional development. The Society also strives to advance the scholarship of teaching and learning, advocate for the needs of teachers of psychology, foster partnerships across academic settings, and increase recognition of the value of the teaching profession.

  Note: STP functions as Division 2 of the American Psychological Association (APA) but welcomes to full membership those who have no APA affiliation. It is not necessary to belong to the APA in order to be a member of the Society for the Teaching of Psychology.

American Psychological Association's Help Center

• APA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States, with more than 115,700 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants and students as its members.

Behavior OnLine

• Behavior Online was relaunched in 2013 as a place where leading experts in the behavioral health sphere could write, share and discuss topics of interest to the field.

CG Jung Page

• The Jung Page was founded in 1995 to encourage new psychological ideas and conversations about what it means to be human in our time and place. Includes a Jungian Lexicon and Jung discussion forums.

Classics in the History of Psychology

• This site is an effort to make the full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines available on the World Wide Web. There are now 20 books and over 100 articles and chapters on-line. The site also contains links to over 170 relevant works posted at other sites.

Mental Health Net

• This searchable site is presented in an easy-to-understand format. It describes "disorders such as depression, anxiety, panic attacks, chronic fatigue syndrome and substance abuse" as well as various treatment options. There is a reading room, including on-line discussion and support groups, and sections of resources for mental health professionals and administrators.

National Mental Health Information Center

• MentalHealth.gov provides one-stop access to U.S. government mental health and mental health problems information.

PsycPORT

• Developed by the American Psychological Association, "PsycPORT delivers the latest psychology news from more than 50 information sources every day."