Full text of articles from some 215 journals dating as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 periodicals dating as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Provides online access to NCJRS abstracts and indexes, full-text publications, grant information, calendar of events, and national and international resources in the area of criminal justice and related subjects.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Full text access to peer-reviewed articles from more than 80 journals in psychology, including journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), covering general, specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
Top Criminology Journals
American Journal of Criminal JusticeThe American Journal of Criminal Justice is a peer reviewed publication offering research on a wide array of criminal justice topics and issues. Coverage addresses the criminal justice process, the formal and informal interplay between system components, problems and solutions experienced by various segments, innovative practices, policy development and implementation, evaluative research, the players engaged in these enterprises, and a wide assortment of other related interests. The Journal publishes original articles that utilize a broad range of methodologies and perspectives when examining crime, law, and criminal justice processing.
American Journal of Criminal LawThe American Journal of Criminal Law strives to promote and encourage improvement in the administration of criminal justice. The Journal is one of the top two student-edited legal journals in the nation devoted to exploring current issues in criminal law. The Journal was formerly published three times a year (now twice a year) and is one of the largest circulating and most cited journals at the University of Texas School of Law. Each issue contains articles by law school faculty, members of the judiciary, and practicing attorneys, as well as a significant amount of student work written by Journal members.
Crime and DelinquencyCrime & Delinquency (CAD), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, is a policy-oriented journal offering a wide range of research and analysis for the scholar and professional in criminology and criminal justice. CAD focuses on issues and concerns that impact the criminal justice system, including the social, political and economic contexts of criminal justice, as well as the victims, criminals, courts and sanctions.
Criminal Justice Policy ReviewCriminal Justice Policy Review (CJPR), published quarterly, is a multidisciplinary peer-reviewed journal committed to the study of criminal justice policy through quantitative, qualitative, and mixed-methodological approaches. CJPR serves as a bridge between academics, policymakers, and practitioners by publishing sound research that addresses important issues in crime and justice and examines the implementation and effectiveness of criminal justice policies, programs, and practices.
CriminologyCriminology is devoted to crime and deviant behavior. Disciplines covered include sociology, psychology, design, systems analysis, and decision theory. Major emphasis is placed on empirical research and scientific methodology. The journal's content also includes articles which review the literature or deal with theoretical issues stated in the literature as well as suggestions for the types of investigation which might be carried out in the future.
Criminology & Public PolicyCriminology & Public Policy is interdisciplinary in nature, devoted to policy discussions of criminology research findings. Focusing on the study of criminal justice policy and practice, the central objective of the journal is to strengthen the role of research findings in the formulation of crime and justice policy by publishing empirically based, policy focused articles.
Criminology, Criminal Justice, Law & SocietyThe Journal of Criminology, Criminal Justice, Law & Society (CCJLS) is an open-access, peer-reviewed journal that builds on the mission of its predecessor, Western Criminology Review (WCR), by promoting understanding of the causes of crime; the methods used to prevent and control crime; the institutions, principles, and actors involved in the apprehension, prosecution, punishment, and reintegration of offenders; and the legal and political framework under which the justice system and its primary actors operate.
International Criminal Justice ReviewInternational Criminal Justice Review (ICJR) publishes peer-reviewed research on crime and justice across the globe. Since the journal’s inception, it maintains a strong interest in cross-national studies. Moving forward, the journal is also particularly interested in publishing research on environmental criminology, immigration and crime, drugs/alcohol and crime, as well as research based on ethnographic or innovative methods.
International Journal of Criminal Justice SciencesThe International Journal of Criminal Justice Sciences (IJCJS) is a peer-reviewed open access journal focusing on the contemporary issues in Criminology, Criminal Justice, and Victimology, is the official journal of the South Asian Society of Criminology and Victimology (SASCV). The Journal has an international focus and it does not restrict itself to any region. It tries to give a new impetus to the field of criminology by the way of high quality articles and book reviews. This journal would provide a forum for Internationally established academics and young researchers who would put forth their perspectives on criminology, criminal justice and Victimology.
International Journal of Evidence and ProofInternational Journal of Evidence and Proof is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal which aspires to be a truly international, interdisciplinary forum for reporting, evaluating and debating the latest developments in evidence law, proof and procedure broadly conceived.
International Journal of Offender Therapy and Comparative CriminologyInternational Journal of Offender Therapy and Comparative Criminology (IJO), peer-reviewed and published monthly, for more than five decades has provided therapists, counselors, researchers, forensic psychologists and psychiatrists, criminologists and policy makers with challenging research on topics including; violent crime, sexual offending, domestic violence, juvenile delinquency, criminal profiling, and risk assessment. There is an emphasis on the treatment of the offender--both as to theory and for clinical practice.
Journal of Criminal Law and CriminologyJournal of Criminal Law & Criminology is a student-run publication at Northwestern University School of Law that prints four issues annually and rests upon a century of scholarship devoted to the scientific study of criminal law and criminology. Since its inception in 1910, the Journal strives to capture the breadth and depth of legal scholarship on crime through the publication of legal articles, criminological research, book reviews, and symposia.
Police QuarterlyPolice Quarterly (PQ), peer-reviewed and published quarterly, is a scholarly journal that publishes theoretical contributions, empirical studies, essays, comparative analyses, critiques, innovative program descriptions, debates, and book reviews on issues related to policing. The only such journal published in North America, PQ seeks to publish both qualitative and quantitative police-related research that emphasizes policy-oriented research of interest to both practitioners and academics.
Theoretical CriminologyTheoretical Criminology is a major interdisciplinary, international, peer reviewed journal for the advancement of the theoretical aspects of criminological knowledge. Theoretical Criminology is concerned with theories, concepts, narratives and myths of crime, criminal behaviour, social deviance, criminal law, morality, justice, social regulation and governance. The journal is committed to renewing general theoretical debate, exploring the interrelation of theory and data in empirical research and advancing the links between criminological analysis and general social, political and cultural theory
Youth Violence and Juvenile JusticeYouth Violence and Juvenile Justice (YVJJ), peer-reviewed and published quarterly, serves a diverse audience of academics and practitioners in juvenile justice and related fields with a resource for publishing current empirical research, discussing theoretical issues, and reviewing promising interventions and programs in the areas of youth violence, juvenile justice, and school safety. Articles address the fields of juvenile justice and youth and school violence prevention.
