LibGuides: COMS 312: Health Communication: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Below are a list of databases to get you started on finding articles.

For more Databases, see the A-Z Databases page.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Cross searching of the business databases: ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports and data. International coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 4,900 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from more than 1,400 journals; provides full-text access to more than 770 journals. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Covers topics in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
EBSCOhost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
Search across a wide range of general and subject specific databases, including resources previously provided by H.W. Wilson.
Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window
Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to peer-reviewed journals in medicine, health, nursing and allied health and other health-related areas. Integrates articles from a wide range of journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Online resource covering today's hottest social issues. Features viewpoint articles.
Ovid Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text access to hundreds of scientific, technical and medical journals. Includes access to former Kluwer journals through 2005. Access limited to 1 user at a time for current titles. In order to limit access issues, users should log out by using the \logoff\ link in the upper right when finished."""
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles and book chapters in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstract database that covers a wide range of disciplines. Allows search by author and institution, includes citation data, and allows for in-depth searching on a concept or topic.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals, books, series, protocols, and reference works published by Springer.

What's a Scholarly Article Video

To learn more about scholarly sources and how to read them, see the Scholarly Sources Libguide.

Want to know if a publication is peer reviewed? Search Ulrichsweb.

Boolean Operators

Boolean Operators are used to connect two, or more, keywords together as a way to narrow or expand your search results.

AND - narrows your topic; only results with the terms 'women' and 'media' found in the title, subject heading or description will be shown.

OR - expands your topic; useful when you want to add to your results; this terms works well when using synonyms as keywords.

NOT - removes results; if your keyword can be defined in multiple ways. For example, 'image' can mean pictures but it could also be related to body image or self-esteem.

Search Strategies Video

Check out this video to learn how to manipulate your search to get the resources you need.