Dietetic Internship Program

MyPlate is a core project of the USDA Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) which is a program of the USDA Food and Nutrition Service.

This tool will calculate daily nutrient recommendations based on the Dietary Reference Intakes (DRIs) established by the Health and Medicine Division of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine. The data represents the most current scientific knowledge on nutrient needs however individual requirements may be higher or lower than DRI recommendations.

The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) is a leader in online global nutrition information. Located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL) of the United States Department of Agriculture, the FNIC website contains over 2500 links to current and reliable nutrition information. FNIC strives to serve the professional community (including educators, health professionals and researchers) by providing access to a wide range of trustworthy food and nutrition resources from both government and non-government sources. The FNIC website provides information about food and human nutrition. The materials found on this website are not intended to be used for the diagnosis or treatment of a health problem or as a substitute for consulting a licensed health professional.

FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research.

The Healthy Eating Index (HEI) is a measure of diet quality, independent of quantity, that can be used to assess compliance with the U.S. Dietary Guidelines for Americans (DGAs) and monitor changes in dietary patterns. The HEI also is a valuable tool for epidemiologic and economic research and can be used to evaluate nutrition interventions and consumer nutrition education programs. The Healthy Eating Index–2015 (HEI–2015) is the latest iteration of the HEI. Since 2005, researchers at the National Cancer Institute (NCI) and the US Department of Agriculture (USDA) have collaborated to update the HEI based on updates to the DGAs.

The mission of ODS is to strengthen knowledge and understanding of dietary supplements by evaluating scientific information, stimulating and supporting research, disseminating research results, and educating the public to foster an enhanced quality of life and health for the U.S. population.

Consumer surveys and other research from the Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition

The Food Safety and Nutrition Survey (FSANS) is designed to assess consumers’ awareness, knowledge, understanding and reported behaviors relating to a variety of food safety and nutrition related topics. The survey combines previous topics from the Food Safety Survey and Health and Diet Survey. The findings are designed to help the FDA make better informed regulatory, policy, education and other risk-management decisions to promote and protect public health.

The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations. NHANES is a major program of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). NCHS is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and has the responsibility for producing vital and health statistics for the Nation.The NHANES interview includes demographic, socioeconomic, dietary, and health-related questions. The examination component consists of medical, dental, and physiological measurements, as well as laboratory tests administered by highly trained medical personnel.

The Dietary Supplement Ingredient Database (DSID) provides estimated levels of ingredients in dietary supplement products sold in the United States. These estimates are based on analytical research results and are not a guarantee of product content nor an endorsement of products by the USDA-ARS, Methods and Application of Food Composition Laboratory or its research partners. These statistically predicted estimates may differ from labeled amounts and are based on chemical analysis of nationally representative products. The DSID is intended primarily for research applications. These data are appropriate for use in population studies of nutrient intake rather than for assessing content of individual products.

The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) from the Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), provides information taken from the labels of dietary supplement products sold in the United States. This information includes the name and form of the ingredients, amounts of the dietary ingredients and percent of the Daily Value (DV) of nutrients, the manufacturer/distributor, health-related claims, warning statements, and an image of the package label.

MenuStat is a free nutritional database of thousands of foods served by the nation’s largest chain restaurants. It aggregates nutrition information posted on restaurant websites since 2012. MenuStat was built by the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, with funding in part from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and is now run by Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Institute with funding from the National Institutes of Health.​

Nutrition.gov is a USDA-sponsored website that offers credible information to help you make healthful eating choices.

The Food Access Research Atlas presents a spatial overview of food access indicators for low-income and other census tracts using different measures of supermarket accessibility; provides food access data for populations within census tracts; and
offers census-tract-level data on food access that can be downloaded for community planning or research purposes.

The objectives of the Atlas are to assemble statistics on food environment indicators to stimulate research on the determinants of food choices and diet quality, and to provide a spatial overview of a community's ability to access healthy food and its success in doing so.