ENGL 364OL: The Short Story

Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.

Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.

Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.

Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-2014).

Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times from 1851-2012.

Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers.

Full-text digital archive of the influential black newspaper Chicago Defender.

Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Includes scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.

Organized around the history of women in social movements between 1600 and the present, the collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible. Database users can track women activists globally and trace particular themes in national, international, or transnational contexts.

A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leadersteachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figurescovering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.

Includes over 67,000 records on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.

Digital archive of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, many published bilingually in Spanish and English.

Contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Includes information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Many of the citations are linked to full text.