Skip to main content
Skip to Library Help widget

FCS 255 : Fashion Industry

Fashion design and fashion industry

FCS Librarian

Doris Helfer's picture
Doris Helfer
Contact:
CSUN
Oviatt Library Room 468
18111 Nordhoff St.
Northridge, CA 91330-8328
818-677-2562
Website

Finding Demographic and Business Data for Local Area

Reference Books with Demographic Data

A collection of Reference books with demographic data (depending on the book, either zip code, county, metropolitan area, and/or national level data) are on the Business Index Table between the Reference Desk and the windows in the Reference Room. Titles of special interest shelved in that area include:

Books in the Oviatt Library

Books on Starting a Business

Use OneSearch to find additional books such as:

Fashion and Marketing Databases

American Factfinder
Presents population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the United States Census Bureau. Data sets section offers tables for the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Economic Census, and Population Estimates.
 

Art Index (H.W. Wilson)

Indexes over 600 journals, 13,000 dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture.
 
Digital archive containing over 1.6 million world art and architecture images. Requires Flash Player version 6.0 or later.
 
Berg Fashion Library (Now part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central)
Provides cross-searchable access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, a specially-created taxonomy, an e-book collection, and an extensive color image bank as well as other resource .
 

A statistical data repository contains more than 35 billion data points from 70+ source organizations. Census results, business data, health metrics, political science data and more are included in over 4.9 billion datasets presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry.

 

IBISWorld

A business information databases that includes economic, demographic and government data to provide insight into over 700 industries in America. It includes market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, risk ratings reports, and business environment profiles.
 

Comprehensive archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences and social sciences.

PolicyMap
Web-based Geographic Information System covering the United States used to understand communities. With easy-to-use menus, PolicyMap is a “GIS tool for non-GIS experts” for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level.

ProQuest Global NewsStream

Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.
 

RKMA Market Research Handbooks

Richard K. Miller & Associates publications include market research handbooks covering the following sectors: Casinos, Gaming & Wagering; Consumer Behavior; Entertainment, Media & Advertising; Healthcare Business; International Consumers; Leisure; Restaurant, Food & Beverage; Retail Business; Sports; and Travel & Tourism.

 
U. S. Census Bureau: Subjects A to Z
Alphabetical index consisting of keywords and phrases to access census statistics, free publications, products, services, and other social, demographic and economic information.

APA Style Guides, 6th edition

The American Psychological Association (APA) citation style is common in the social sciences.

APA Style Guide by CSUN librarian Eric Garcia

APA Formatting and Style Guide from the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University

Citing Archival Materials in APA

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (official print version)

Call number BF76.7 .P83 2010, available in the Learning Commons

Citing Census Data From American Factfinder

Book

Ontiveros, R. J. (2014). In the spirit of a new people: The cultural politics of the Chicano movement. New York: New York University Press.
Ontiveros argues that the arts provide an expression of the Chicano movement that circumvents neoliberalism and connects historic struggles to current lived experience. Chicano artists have integrated environmentalism and feminism with the Chicano movement in print media, visual arts, theater, and novels since the 1970s. While focused on art, this book also provides a history of the coalition politics connecting the Chicano movement to other social justice struggles.

 

Journal article

Alvarez, N. & Mearns, J. (2014). The benefits of writing and performing in the spoken word poetry community. The Arts in Psychotherapy, 41(3), 263-268. doi:10.1016/j.aip.2014.03.004
Prior research has shown narrative writing to help with making meaning out of trauma. This article uses grounded theory to analyze semi-structured interviews with ten spoken word poets.  Because spoken word poetry is performed live, it creates personal and community connections that enhance the emotional development and resolution offered by the practice of writing. The findings are limited by the small, nonrandom sample (all the participants were from the same community).

Citing Census Data

Dynamically generated tables, maps, and files from American FactFinder:
(Use semicolons to separate elements)

  1. U.S. Census Bureau;
  2. Name of the database or other data repository/source (e.g., American FactFinder), set off by quotation marks, or follow publication citation style;
  3. The name of the person who generates the tabulation, etc., e.g., "generated by John Smith;"
  4. The name of the software package used to generate the tabulation, if known, e.g., "using American FactFinder;"
  5. The URL of the application software's main or first page set off by angle brackets, e.g., <http://factfinder2.census.gov>;
  6. The date, within parenthesis, when the user generated the tabulation, e.g., (7 January 2012).

 

For a reference map in American FactFinder:

 

For a thematic map in American FactFinder 
(Find the specific survey or census, data set and matrix number under the map image):

  • U.S. Census Bureau; Census 2000, Summary File 1, Matrix P7; generated by Joe Smith; using American FactFinder; <http://factfinder2.census.gov>; (15 February 2012).

Examples:

  • U.S. Census Bureau; American Community Survey, 2010 American Community Survey 1-Year Estimates, Table GCT0101; generated by John Smith; using American FactFinder; <http://factfinder2.census.gov>; (7 January 2012).
  • U.S. Census Bureau; Census 2000, Summary File 1, Table P001; generated by Jane Jones; using American FactFinder; <http://factfinder2.census.gov>; (20 February 2012)
  • U.S. Census Bureau; 2010 Census Summary File 1; Tables P1 and QT-P1; generated by John Smith; using American FactFinder; <http://factfinder2.census.gov>; (12 December 2011).

Citing Data from Others

Properly citing data assists in the research process by giving data creators proper credit for their work, aids replication, provides permanent and reliable information about the data source, helps track the impact of the data, and facilitates resource discovery and access.

Citing Data From Others

In many cases, a data provider will include recommended citation formats (i.e. the ICPSR). Also note that the producers of a particular dataset may request that users of the data cite a publication in which the data are described, rather than citing the dataset (i.e. the Database of Political Institutions). 

When a data provider does not recommend a citation format, we recommend these general citation guidelines:

  1. Author/Principal Investigator
  2. Year of Publication
  3. Title of the Data Source
  4. Edition/Version Number
  5. Format of the Data Source (e.g. [Computer File], [CD-ROM], [Online], etc.)
  6. Producer of the Data Source
  7. Distributor of the Data Source
  8. URL for the Data Source

Citing Your Sources

APA Annotated Bibliography Examples

Book

Ontiveros, R. J. (2014). In the spirit of a new people: The cultural politics of the Chicano movement. New York: New York University Press.
Ontiveros argues that the arts provide an expression of the Chicano movement that circumvents neoliberalism and connects historic struggles to current lived experience. Chicano artists have integrated environmentalism and feminism with the Chicano movement in print media, visual arts, theater, and novels since the 1970s. While focused on art, this book also provides a history of the coalition politics connecting the Chicano movement to other social justice struggles.

 

Journal article

Alvarez, N. & Mearns, J. (2014). The benefits of writing and performing in the spoken word poetry community. The Arts in Psychotherapy, 41(3), 263-268. doi:10.1016/j.aip.2014.03.004
Prior research has shown narrative writing to help with making meaning out of trauma. This article uses grounded theory to analyze semi-structured interviews with ten spoken word poets.  Because spoken word poetry is performed live, it creates personal and community connections that enhance the emotional development and resolution offered by the practice of writing. The findings are limited by the small, nonrandom sample (all the participants were from the same community).

Document Reader