HIST 301: The Historian’s Craft: Reading, Research and Writing History

• German History in Documents and Images

  German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of original historical materials documenting German history from the beginning of the early modern period to the present. The most significant section for our use is "From the Reformation to the Thirty Years War (1500-1648)," which includes a number of sources from the Peasants Revolt and Anabaptism.

• Reformation Europe: Internet History Sourcebook

• EuroDocs: Reformation
  Access to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation. The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.

• Post-Reformation Digital Library

  Select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research.

• Project Wittenberg Lutheran Electronic Archive

  Texts by and about Martin Luther and other Lutherans (including Melanchthon, Gerhardt, and others).

• Open Access Digital Theological Library

  Content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.

• Hanover Historical Texts: Early Modern Europe

  Includes links to sources from the Reformation in Germany and more.

• The Protestant Reformation: Texts

  This is an older web page, no longer actively maintained, so there are some broken links, as well as good links to primary sources in English translation.

• SBB16: Drucke des 16. Jahrhunderts in der Staatsbiblothek Berlin

  Here you can search about 360 pamphlets around the Reformation, among other content. Site in German.

• Flugschriften aus der Bibliothek Oettingen-Wallenstein, Universitätsbibliothek Augsburg

  Some 1,000 17th century pamphlets. Site in German.

https://lutheranreformation.org/history/maps/
Walk the streets where Luther lived and started the Reformation!

Backus, Irena. A Companion to the Swiss Reformation. Edited by Amy Nelson Burnett and Emidio Campi, Brill, 2016.

A Companion to the Swiss Reformation that describes the course of the Protestant Reformation in the Swiss Confederation over the course of the sixteenth century. Its essays examine the successes as well as the failures of the reformation movement, considering not only the institutional churches but also the spread of Anabaptism. The volume highlights the different form that the Reformation took among the members of the Confederation and its allied territories, and it describes the political, social and cultural consequences of the Reformation for the Confederation as a whole.

Lamport, Mark A., editor. Encyclopedia of Martin Luther and the Reformation. Rowman & Littlefield, 2017.

Hillerbrand, Hans J., editor. The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation. Oxford University Press, 1996.

The Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research.