Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

HIST 674- Seminar Recent U.S. History

This is a course guide for students enrolled in History 674 at California State University Northridge.

Primary Source Resources on Voting Rights History

Digital Public Library of America: Voting Rights Act of 1965 This link opens in a new window

The sources in this set, including letters, photographs, petitions, reports, hearings, and more, provide further insight into the context of this important Act.

National Archives: Congress and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 This link opens in a new window

The National Archives' document collection includes letters, photographs, and congressional records related to the passage of the Voting Rights Act.

Voting Rights Act 1965 Web Resources

Voting Rights: a Short History (Carnegie)

This site provides a history of voting rights in America, from the 1800s to present.

Voting Rights Act (NAACP)

Learn more about the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as well as information for voting in 2020.

Voting Rights Act: Major Dates in History (ACLU)

Provides information on major dates in the history of the Voting Rights Act.

Voting Rights Act of 1965 (National Archives)

Read the full Voting Rights Act of 1965.

Voting Rights Act of 1965 Overview (FindLaw)

Overview of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, from a legal point of view.

Voting Rights for African Americans (Library of Congress)

This Library of Congress site gives an overview of the history of voting rights for African Americans

African Americans and the Vote (Southern Poverty Law Center)

Provides history of African American voting rights, including challenges faced today.

Bloody Sunday (History Channel)

A History Channel video about Bloody Sunday.

Bloody Sunday (SNCC)

Information about Bloody Sunday, including primary source documents.

Historical Legacy of the March on Washington (National Museum of African American History & Culture)

Learn more about the history and impact of the March on Washington.

History of the U.S. Voting Rights Act (National Geographic)

Provides information on how the U.S. Voting Rights Act was won and how it's under fire today.

History of the Voting Rights Act (ACLU)

This site provides a history of the Voting Rights Act of 1965.

Selma to Montgomery March (Stanford/Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute)

Information about the 1965 march from Selma to Montgomery, including audio from Martin Luther King, Jr.'s address.

Books on Voting Rights & Suppression at the CSUN University Library

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources