Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to Library Help widget

Japanese Language and Literature / 日本語

for CSUN Japanese Studies

Japanese Language and Literature: Finding Japanese Articles

Databases containing English articles on Japan

Databases in Japanese

CiNii : Citation Information by NII NII 論文情報ナビゲータ
Japanese scholarly journal index. Abstracts are available. Includes NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin search. Many full text articles from Daigaku Kiyo (大学紀要)are available in pdf. Can search holding institutions. Can save your bibliographic information in three different formats.

See also the Getting the Most of CiNii Articles Database (link to University of Hawaii at Manoa)

国立国会図書館オンライン NDL Online | Includes journal indexes from 1948 to present developed by the National Diet Library. List of journals indexed in the NDL online database.

Databases including full-text Japanese magazines/journal articles

IRDB Institutional Repository Database | 学術機関リポジトリデータベース (Japanese/English)
Japanese Institutional Repositories Online. It enables you to search all the institutional repositories sites in Japan. A lot of open access scholarly articles available to search in both Japanese and English.

J-STAGE : Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic journals.
科学技術情報発信・流通総合システム ( Japanese / English )

Prange Collection at the University of Maryland. The most comprehensive collection in the world of print publications issued in Japan during the immediate post-World War II years, 1945-1949.

Other helpful sites

NDL Search 国会図書館サーチ Full-text and federated search site for 200+ databases List of databases

CiNii : Academic Society Journals and Research Bulletins List

Nihon no Bijutsu 日本の美術
Translation of titles of each issue of Nihon no Bijutsu journal created by Ohio State University

Finding & Accessing electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) in Japanese

The National Diet Library Digitized Contents
About 15,000 titles of Japanese doctoral dissertations (received 1991-2000) are available online in addition to about 126,000 titles provided only inside the NDL. TITLE: 博士論文

   Browse by title Title list of all the dissertations received by NDL from 1950 to present

Search dissertations and thesis via IRDB. Check on "Thesis or Dissertation" box.

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources