Welcome to your Jewish StudiesResearch Guide. This guide is intended to introduce students enrolled in Jewish Studies courses to useful research materials. Within this guide you will find information on how to locate, utilize and cite information resources that support the Jewish Studies research here at CSUN and beyond.
Finding Articles & Information from Databases
The following databases are recommended for Jewish Studies Research.
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
RAMBI – The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies – is a selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel.
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services.WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. Includes books, music CDs, videos, digital content, and article citations, available in many languages.
Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.
Using OneSearch type in your keywords and click Go. Click on the 'Books' filer under 'Resource Type' on the left-hand side of the search results. You will find books on your subject (like these examples pictured below), both in print and electronic formats.
Cross-searchable multidisciplinary database of electronic books featuring publications from major academic, scientific, technical, medical and professional publishers. Includes over 85,000 titles in multiple subject areas. To download e-books, users must create a personal Ebrary account and download the free Adobe Digital Editions software. Compatible with most devices, including iPad, iPhone, eReaders, laptops, etc., but not Kindle. For instructions, consult the Help Guide.