Jewish Studies

• The Avalon Project from Yale Univeristy

  The project contains a section called "The Middle East 1916-2001 : A Documentary Record." where you can find diplomatic primary sources related to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, like treaties, UN resolutions, and other documents.

• Maps Of The Middle East

  A browsable collection arranged by country of Middle Eastern maps from the Perry Castaneda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin. 

• Middle East Modern History Source Book (Fordham University)
   

• Israel State Archives
  The Israel State Archives is the National Archive of Israel, located in Jerusalem. It contains records dating to the Turkish period until the present time which can be viewed in Hebrew and English (check top banner for options). The Israel State Archives also house private archives, audiovisual material such as photographs and maps, video clips and a variety of publications in Hebrew and English on subjects ranging from foreign policy to football and theater. There is a large British Mandate collection, which is mostly in English, and records of government and many other public figures.
• Jerusalem Center for Public Affairs: Israel at War Primary Source Repository
  Perspectives on Israel at war – from the War of Independence 1948  to the Gaza War of 2012 – from those writing at the time, the primary sources of history. Includes transcripts of speeches and other primary source materials.
• Settlements and Solutions
  The Washington Institute's interactive project, Settlements and Solutions, is a first-of-its-kind web-based geographic database that provides users engaged with the issue of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict a reliable source to explore Israeli settlements in the West Bank. Users of this mapping tool can explore settlement geography and demography and decide for themselves whether, given the circumstances on the ground, a two-state solution is still possible.
• Toldot Yisrael
  An oral history project focusing on those who were at least 16 years old at the founding of the State of Israel. Now housed at the National Library of Israel.  See the National Library of Israel's Archive Collection.

For additional listings of archives visit: Directory of Contemporary Jewish Archives and Research Institutions 

Primary sources are first-hand accounts of an event or time in history that have yet to be interpreted by another person.
Examples of primary sources include:

• diaries, journals, letters, interviews, speeches, memos, manuscripts - first-person accounts
• memoirs and autobiographies
• official records:government publications, census data, court reports, police records
• minutes, reports, correspondence of an organization
• newspaper and magazine articles written during the time of the event
• photographs, paintings, film and television programs, audio recordings which document an event
• opinion polls documenting attitudes during time of event(s)
• artifacts: objects, tools, clothing, etc. of the time period or event
   

To learn about primary sources and how to use them in research, please see the Special Collections and Archives Tutorials. To view or learn about primary sources and other historical materials in our Special Collections and Archives, please use the University Library Finding Aid Database. For information on how to view these materials in person, see our Special Collections and Archives website.

For archives held at other California institutions, please search the Online Archive of California (OAC).

See Citing Archival Materials guide for creating citations for primary and other historical sources.

See Citing Archival Materials guide for creating citations for primary and other historical sources.

• Columbia University Center for Palestine Studies
• Museum of the Palestinian People

  "The Museum of the Palestinian People is here to tell our stories; stories that encompass the rich history, vibrant arts and culture, of a people who thrive even in the face of adversity. Our stories are many, our hearts are one".

• Nakba Archive

  The Nakba Archive is a grassroots oral history collective founded in 2002 to record and commemorate the experiences of Palestinian refugees in Lebanon who lived through the 1948 Nakba, ‘catastrophe.’ 

• The Palestine Chronology

  This platform offers free and full access to the Palestine Chronology in a digitized format. Since the beginning of the Israeli invasion of Lebanon in June 1982, the Institute for Palestine Studies has chronicled daily political and military events surrounding the Palestine Question. These day-by-day summaries are based on Palestinian, Arab, Israeli and international sources. Prior to August 2018, the chronology was published quarterly in the Journal of Palestine Studies. It is now updated monthly on this platform.

• The Palestine Poster Project Archives

  A web-based archives and curriculum project displaying more than 4,500 Palestine-related posters from 1898 to the present.

• The Palestinian Oral History Archive
  The Palestinian Oral History Archive is an archival collection that contains more than 1,000 hours of testimonies from first-generation Palestinians and other Palestinian communities in Lebanon 

• Speaking Stones : Communiqués from the Intifada Underground

  Communiqués issued by United National Command, also referred to as the Unified National Leadership of the Uprising (UNLU).

• UNRWA photo and film archive for Palestine refugees

  Ever since it was established, UNRWA has recorded all aspects of the life and history of Palestine refugees through film and photography. This has led to a rich audiovisual archive, containing more than 430,000 negatives, 10,000 prints, 85,000 slides, 75 films and 730 videocassettes.