Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

Jewish Studies

How to Cite Your Sources

Citation Style - MLA

What is Plagiarism?

Plagiarism is the act of plagiarizing which is when someone: 

  • steals and passes off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own;
  • uses (another's production) without crediting the source;
  • commits literary theft;
  • presents as new and original an idea or product derived from an existing source.

(Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary)

What is a Citation?

What is a citation?
A citation is a description of a book, article, website, etc. that provides enough information so that others can locate the source you used themselves. It allows you to credit the authors of the sources you use and clarify which ideas belong to you and which belong to other sources.

What information is included?   
Citation information usually includes: author(s), date of publication, title, and publisher's name and location (and for articles: journal title, volume, issue and page numbers).

What is MLA?

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America

The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources