LibGuides: JS 318 Applied Jewish Ethics: Reference Resources

Recommended Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new window
Updated edition features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion. Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Encyclopedia Judaica by Fred Skolnik; Michael Berenbaum
Call Number: Oviatt Main Learning Commons DS102.8 .E496 2007
ISBN: 9780028659282
Publication Date: 2006-12-12
The Encyclopedia of Judaism by Jacob Neusner (Editor); Alan J. Avery-Peck (Editor); William Scott Green (Editor); Alan Green (Editor)
Call Number: Oviatt Main Learning Commons BM50 .E63 1999
ISBN: 9780826411785
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Myth, Magic and Mysticism by Geoffrey W. Dennis
Call Number: Oviatt Main Learning Commons BM723 .D46 2007
ISBN: 9780738709055
Publication Date: 2007-01-08
Encyclopedia of Modern Jewish Culture by Glenda Abramson (Editor)
Call Number: Oviatt Main Learning Commons DS102.8 .E56 2005
ISBN: 9780415298131
Publication Date: 2005-01-12
Medieval Jewish Civilization by Norman Roth (Editor)
Call Number: Oviatt Main Learning Commons DS124 .M386 2003
ISBN: 0415937124
Publication Date: 2002-11-27
Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics by Geoffrey Khan (Editor); Shmuel Bolozky (Editor); Gary A. Rendsburg (Editor); Aaron D. Rubin (Editor); Ora R. Schwarzwald (Editor); Tamar Zewi (Editor); Steven E. Fassberg (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004176423
Publication Date: 2013-08-09

Using Reference Resources

Subject encyclopedias, handbooks and overviews are scholarly works written by experts on a variety of topics. Articles appearing in subject encyclopedias are written by selected expert scholars who typically are renown for their specialization in the topic . Subject encyclopedia can help you locate:

an overview of your selected topic that is more specialized than what you would find in general encyclopedias
a discussion of how scholars have approached, explored, and debated the topic over time (for examples for historians: historiography)
words, phrases, names, dates, and events that can be used as keywords when searching a database
detailed bibliographies in articles to find other sources (both primary and secondary)
additional cross-references to find related topics
authoritative content that is reliable versus what you might find on an open edited source like wikipedia

Selected Dictionaries, Handbooks, Etc.

For Subject Dictionaries search the Advanced Search of OneSearch for these subject keywords

Judaism -- Dictionaries

Israel -- History -- Dictionaries

Zionism -- History -- Dictionaries

Examples of recommended titles include the titles below:

The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion by Geoffrey Wigoder (Editor); R. J. Zwi Werblowsky (Editor)
Call Number: Oviatt Main Learning Commons BM50 .O94 1997
ISBN: 9780195086058
Publication Date: 1997-03-13
The Blackwell Companion to Judaism by Jacob Neusner; Alan J. Avery-Peck (Editor)
Call Number: Oviatt Main Floor2 (Ref) BM42 .B54 2000
ISBN: 9781577180586
Publication Date: 2000-10-03