Skip to main content

Assistive Technology Studies and Human Services

This guide serves the online courses for Assistive Technology

About this guide

This library guide will serve the online courses for the MS degree in Assistive Technology.

Overview

Books about Assistive Technologies

Browsing

Books on Assistive Technologies are classified in a variety of Library of Congress call numbers,  In print they are scattered on Floors 2, 3 and/or 4. Additional locations are the Reserve Book Room(Floor 4 East), Stored(ASRS East), and the Learning Commons. Check catalog for Floor and call number. There are a growing number of electronic books.  Here is a link to search for only ebooks on the terms assistive technologies -   assistive technolog* limited to ebooks

Searching:  Use the Library Catalog to find books on a topic. OneSearch contains our book catalog.  You many not know the subject headings but you can start with a keyword search of your topic such as  Assistive Technology contained in the title.  

The following links search the catalog for books  by some known subject heading you may have identified examining catalog records for books you identified with the above keyword search

Databases

The best way to find articles on a specific topic is to search in a database, most of which index thousands of articles in thousands of journals. Not all articles are available full-text online; some are in print only and some are not available from the Library except through interlibrary loan. To determine the availability of an article, most databases offer a link to   Find Text if article is not already attached to the citation. 

List of Databases can be found at https://libguides.csun.edu/ATHS/articles-databases-onesearch

 

Journals about Assistive Technologies

To see if CSUN owns a journal, Please check

  1. Online Library Catalog Periodical Title Search

To assist you in finding the journal articles, the CSUN list of Electronic Periodicals and bibliographic databases offer SFX links. Periodical databases now provide full text access possibilities where the database is limited to citation or abstract.
If CSUN does not own the journal title you need, you may request articles using the Interlibrary Loan service at http://illiad.csun.edu/.

Some examples of journals we subscribe to currently online is:

How to use a DOI

A digital object identifier (DOI) is a unique number used to identify an electronic article.

It provides a permament link to the article.

Many citation styles, including APA, want the DOI added to the citation.  See the following example 

 

If you copy and paste the Doi to see if CSUN has access, use the Search Citation Linker

and paste the doi number (the example in the PDF was  10.1080/09638280701618661 into the Doi box for Articles as seen below

picture of Citation searcher with doi number inserted in Article template

Document Reader