LibGuides: Assistive Technology Studies and Human Services: Finding Books

Electronic Books

In addition to the database links below, our book catalog is to use OneSearch. Please be sure to view two short videos. Follow the link and 2 videos wil be offered, How to Find Books and Finding books on shelves. View each video

How to find books

Finding books on shelves

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text electronic books. Includes subscribed titles from eBook Academic Collection and purchased titles from eBook Collection (EBSCO).
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable multidisciplinary database of electronic books featuring publications from major academic, scientific, technical, medical and professional publishers. Includes over 85,000 titles in multiple subject areas. To download e-books, users must create a personal Ebrary account and download the free Adobe Digital Editions software. Compatible with most devices, including iPad, iPhone, eReaders, laptops, etc., but not Kindle. For instructions, consult the Help Guide.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science This link opens in a new window
This online library consists of ebooks (lectures) that summarize important research or development topics in computer science or engineering, authored by an expert in the field. The collection covers engineering areas, primarily related to electrical engineering, computer science, and bioengineering.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals, books, series, protocols, and reference works published by Springer.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology by Mehdi Khosrow-Pour; Mehdi Khosrow-Pour (Editor)
ISBN: 9781466658882
Publication Date: 2014-07-31
has a chapter on Assistive Technology-Chapter 30

Overview Finding Books

Books about Assisstive Technologies

Browsing

Books on Assisstive Technologies are classified in a variety of Library of Congress call numbers, In print they are scattered on Floors 2, 3 and/or 4. Additional locations are the Reserve Book Room(Floor 4 East), Stored(ASRS East), and the Learning Commons. Check catalog for Floor and call number. There are a growing number of electronic books. Here is a link to search for only ebooks on the terms assistive technologies - assistive technolog* limited to ebooks

Searching: Use the Library Catalog to find books on a topic. If you don't know a specific title, then start with a KEYWORD search. The following link search the catalog with a SUBJECT HEADING

Self Help Devices for People with Disabilities

Finding Books

Using OneSearch type in your keywords and click Go.
Click on the 'Books' filter under 'Resource Type' on the left-hand side of the search results. You will find books on your subject (like these examples pictured below), both in print and electronic formats.