LibGuides: Educational Leadership & Policy Studies (ELPS): Finding Articles, Books, Videos, and Theses/Dissertations

Librarian

Lisa Cheby

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

818-677-3840

Subjects: Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Elementary Education, Secondary Education, Special Education

Advanced OneSearch

What is OneSearch?

OneSearch is the University Library's searching tool to locate book, ebooks, articles, videos and more provided by the Library. OneSearch has been adopted by all 23 CSU libraries giving the CSU system a shared platform to collaborate and share resources.

What am I searching with OneSearch?

By default, with OneSearch you are searching the following University Library collections together:

Articles - A interdisciplinary collection of millions of articles from numerous databases and providers. Note that this will not show all articles from all databases.
Books and Media (CSUN) - Books, ebooks, DVDs, music, streaming media and more available through the University Library. This also includes material located in the Teacher Curriculum Center, Music & Media, Map Library, and Special Collections & Archives.

Additionally the following collections are not included in the default search, but can be selected by the user:

Course Reserves - Course materials placed in the library by professors and available for short term checkout.
All CSU Libraries (CSU+) -Includes the books and media collections of all 23 campus libraries as well as articles that can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

OneSearch Advanced Search

Use the Advanced Search feature to help you find specific items by title or author name, material type or publication date range. Click on Advanced Search under "More Search Options" in the OneSearch box on the library home page. If you are in One Search, click on "Advanced Search" to the right of the search box. To learn more advanced search strategies, click on the search strategy tips tab on the left.

ERIC 2025 Updates

With the restructuring and reported defunding of the Department of Education there has been uncertainty about the impact on ERIC. Until there is evidence that the ERIC databases are being censored or updated, the links above will continue to work and are still recommended. If you have questions about an article or journal in ERIC that you cannot access, please email me.

Meanwhile, here is a timeline of updates:

4/23/25: Major Education Resource Set to Shut Down This Week
4/25/25: ERICA to the Rescue! -- Lists efforts to archive ERIC in the event of deletion of the database by the US Government
4/28/25: IES (Institute of Education Sciences) Newsflash Listserv reported the U.S. Department of Education, on behalf of the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), has renewed its contract with AEM Corporation to continue the work of ERIC.

For more about what makes ERIC unique from our other education databases, here are some recent articles:

Using ERIC (Department of Education)

Education Databases

What is ERIC?

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) is a database maintained by the U.S. Federal Government that contains records and full-text documents records for a variety of education-related resources, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, units of study, lesson plans, and policy papers. Please see the box below "ERIC 2025 Updates" for information regarding how U.S. Government budget cuts and restructuring are impacting ERIC.

Accessing ERIC

We have three interfaces you may use to access ERIC. You may go directly to the government website or access it through one of two vendors, ProQuest or EBSCOhost.

ERIC (EBSCO) ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) provides\access to education literature and resources. ERIC contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents.
ERIC (ProQuest) ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
ERIC (U.S. Department of Education) ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, providing free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials.

Additional Education Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education Online source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Includes access to The Almanac of Higher Education. Updated daily.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) Provides full text, indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals, books and yearbooks on a wide array of subject areas including adult education, comparative education, government funding, higher education, school administration, and teacher evaluation.
Education in Video Collection of streaming videos developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
Education Research Complete Bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, as well as full text for over one thousand journals, books, monographs, and education-related conference papers. Topics include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Access generously provided by the College of Education.
SAGE Research Methods SAGE Research Methods provides information on writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up the findings. SAGE Research Methods coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences, plus a wide range of methods commonly used in science, technology, medicine, and the humanities.
Teaching Channel A collection of over 1,400 videos on teaching, learning and education

Related, Interdisciplinary Databases

Use these databases for an interdisciplinary perspective on education issues

General Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
PsycINFO Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations devoted to the peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
Scopus A citation and abstract database that covers a wide range of disciplines. Allows search by author and institution, includes citation data, and allows for in-depth searching on a concept or topic.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) Full text of articles from some 215 journals dating as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 periodicals dating as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Sports Medicine & Education Index Provides indexing and abstracting of scholarly and trade literature in physical education. Abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.

Dissertations and Theses Databases

Dissertations & Theses Collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, covering more than 1 million dissertations and theses.
EBSCO Open Dissertations Search thousands of freely available dissertations

Ethnic & Gender Studies Databases

Anthropology Plus Indexes over 5,800 journals covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Combines Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
Black Studies Center Combines resources for research and teaching in Black studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals Full Text (IIBP), The Chicago Defender Archive, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, and Black Literature Index. Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and dissertations and masters theses.
Black Thought and Culture A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leadersteachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figurescovering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.
Chicano Database Includes over 67,000 records on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.
eHRAF World Cultures Contains ethnographic collections on the cultures of the world, past and present, indexed by culture and subject, and covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
Ethnic Diversity Source Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents. The subscription also includes access to the ebooks Diversity & Ethnic Studies collection covering diversity, equity and inclusion.
Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.
GenderWatch Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Includes scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index Contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Includes information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Many of the citations are linked to full text.
Index to Jewish Periodicals Index on Jewish history, activity and thought. Provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 230 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America Digitized materials from the A.J. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, covering American Indians and their involvement in territorial disputes, U.S. Government relations, missionary activity, education, colonialism, and more.
ProQuest Black Studies Developed in collaboration with faculty, scholars, and librarians, ProQuest Black Studies brings together ProQuest's award-winning Black Studies content into one destination for research, teaching, and learning purposes. This database combines primary and secondary sources, including leading historical Black newspapers, archival documents and collections, key government materials, videos, writings by major Black intellectuals and leaders, scholarly journals, and essays by top scholars in Black Studies.
Race Relations in America This resource provides access to a wealth of documents highlighting different responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, segregation and racial tensions. These range from survey material, including interviews and statistics, to educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, and photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes.

Educational Leadership & Policy Studies (ELPS)

Librarian

Advanced OneSearch

What is OneSearch?

What am I searching with OneSearch?

OneSearch Advanced Search

ERIC 2025 Updates

ERIC 2025 Updates

Using ERIC (Department of Education)

Education Databases

What is ERIC?

Accessing ERIC

Additional Education Databases

Related, Interdisciplinary Databases

General Interdisciplinary Databases

Dissertations and Theses Databases

Ethnic & Gender Studies Databases

Using ERIC (EBSCO)

Using ERIC (ProQuest)