Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

FCS 380: Family and Consumer Sciences Foundations and Research

FCS 380 - Selected Resources in the University Library

TABLE OF CONTENTS

  1. INTRODUCTION
  2. INDEXES/ABSTRACTS/DATABASES OF INTEREST TO ALL FCS STUDENTS AVAILABLE FROM THE Family and Consumer Sciences DATABASES LIST
  3. DISSERTATIONS/THESES DATABASES
  4. HANDBOOKS/MANUALS/DICTIONARIES/ENCYCLOPEDIAS IN THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY
  5. NUTRITION/FOODS BOOKS IN THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY
  6. TEXTILES/FASHION BOOKS IN THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY
  7. EQUIPMENT/INTERIORS BOOKS IN THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY
  8. CONSUMER ISSUES/MARKETING/BUSINESS BOOKS IN THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY
  9. BEHAVIOR BOOKS IN THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY

1. INTRODUCTION

Family Consumer Sciences, as taught at CSUN, covers many different subjects in the major disciplines of science, social science, and humanities. This is, therefore, a highly selective bibliography. You are urged to consult the library catalog and other specific library guides for more detailed information.

2. INDEXES/ABSTRACTS/COMPUTER SEARCHABLE DATABASES

A literature search for journal articles requires locating a suitable database and learning to use it. For historical topics you may also need to browse the issues of a print or several print indexing and abstracting services which are needed to cover the subject in sufficient depth. Detailed information about databases of interest to students in Family and Consumer Sciences can be found on the Family and Consumer Sciences Databases list.

3. DISSERTATIONS/THESES DATABASES      

NOTE: CSUN Family and Consumer Sciences Dept. theses are all shelved under the call number TX 165 .Z95 on the 4th floor or in storage in the AS/RS. They are cataloged under the subject "Dissertations, Academic -- CSUN -- Home Economics"; for older theses or ; and either "Family Environmental Sciences" for more recent ones or for theses done starting 2003/04 academic year use the department's newest name "Family Consumer Sciences." You can also find CSUN theses in the ScholarWorks database at: https://scholarworks.csun.edu/.

The Library does not own most of the actual dissertations, but can help you acquire them through Interlibrary loan as the dissertations themselves usually reside only at the University where the dissertation was done.  

4. HANDBOOKS/MANUALS/DICTIONARIES/

ENCYCLOPEDIAS IN THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY  

Here's a brief list of basic reference sources organized by subject area. For a complete list of available books consult the library catalog. Remember to use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (red books behind the reference desk) to obtain a list of all pertinent subject headings for your search. Examples are "Fashion--Dictionaries"; (the subheading "Dictionaries" includes encyclopedias), "Nutrition--Handbooks, Manuals, etc."

5. Selected Nutrition/Foods Books

6. Selected Textiles/Fashion Books

7. Selected Equipment/Interiors Books

8. Selected Consumer Issues/Marketing/Business Books

9. Selected Behavior Books

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources