See above for a direct link to access articles in Harvard Business Review. Please note, however, there are some limitations to access.
Harvard Business Publishing made 500 of its most popular Harvard Business Review articles, which are available via our subscription to the EBSCO database Business Source Premier, “read only” in 2013. Unlike other articles in the database, the 500 Harvard Business Review articles may not be printed or saved, nor may the full text of the articles be linked to with persistent links. When a user views the detailed record of a restricted article in Business Source Complete, the following message appears above the article title:
“The publisher offers limited access to the article. The full text cannot be printed or saved.”
You can take a screenshot (or a series of screenshots) to save images of the article, or just read it while online.
You can use OneSearch to find almost anything in the Library (books, films, articles, etc.). To do more targeted searching for articles, case studies, and more, use business-specific databases. Whenever you use a database or access something remotely via the Library, you need to log in. As graduate students, you have access to all of these resources, but if you are not authenticated as a CSUN student, you may be asked to pay for content. If you ever have problems logging in, ask for help!
With a library card from Los Angeles Public Library (or most public libraries in the United States), in addition to checking out e-books and e-audiobooks, you can check out magazines using Overdrive. You can then read these magazines using a computer or tablet. Here is an example of some business/finance magazines that are available.
Anyone who lives in California can apply for an LAPL card, and their Northridge branch is just off campus. If you live in the City of LA, you can get an e-card online. LA County Library has e-cards for county residents, and physical cards for everyone else. Other Southern California libraries to consider are Beverly Hills (open to LA, Orange, and Ventura County residents, but you need to apply for your card in person), Glendale Public Library, and Thousand Oaks Public Library.
Remember you can keep using public library resources after you graduate, so it is a good idea to get to know them now as a complement to what we have at CSUN.
To find a specific journal, such as Journal of Marketing, use OneSearch's Journal tool.
Once you find a journal, you will see your points of access:
You will need to log in with your Portal ID and password.
Then you can search for articles just within that specific journal.
Your other option is to search in a database (such as ABI/Inform) for articles from a variety of journals.
Unsure if a journal is peer-reviewed/refereed/scholarly? You can always check using Ulrich's Periodicals Directory. Ulrich's will also tell you if a journal is active, who is on the editorial board (if applicable), and which databases provide access to the journal.
