LibGuides: HSCI 438: International Health: Statistics

Global Statistics

Statistics plays an important role in research, planning and decision-making in the health sciences. You can use statistics to bolster your thesis and to help provide evidence of claims made in your assignments.

In addition to the links below you may be able to find health related statistics for specific countries by looking for data on the website of the country's ministry/department of health.

Measure DHS
USAID-funded program to collect and analyze demographic and health data for regional and national family planning and public health programs. Includes STATcompiler and HIV/AIDS Survey Indicators Database. Administered by Macro International, Inc.
Nation Master
Generate maps, graphs, charts, and country rankings for a broad range of numerical data extracted from a variety of authoritative sources, including U.S. and U.N. statistical publications.
UN Data
Time series statistical information for countries collected from UN and related international governmental organizations. Topics covered include population composition and change; human settlements, housing, geographic distribution of population; households and families, marital status, fertility; health, health services; impairment, disabilities; nutrition; education and learning and more.
Tablemaker
The Guttmacher Institute is a leading research and policy organization committed to advancing sexual and reproductive health and rights in the United States and globally. Country-level statistics on health and family planning worldwide. Topics covered include population characteristics and growth, economic development and employment, education and social indicators, health measures, pregnancy, childbirth, and abortion, marriage and sexual activity, contraceptive knowledge and use, and contraceptive needs and services.
World Bank Micro Data
Microdata Library, providing data on people living in developing countries, their institutions, their environment, their communities and the operation of their economies.
World Bank Health Stats
HealthStats is the World Bank’s comprehensive database of Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP) statistics. It includes over 250 indicators on topics such as health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, malaria and tuberculosis, health workforce and health facilities use, nutrition, reproductive health, population and population projections, cause of death, non-communicable diseases, water and sanitation, with background information on poverty, labor force, economy and education. Users can access HNP data by country, topic, or indicator, and view the resulting data (and wealth quintiles) in tables, charts or maps that can be easily shared through email, Facebook and Twitter.
The Global Health Observatory (GHO)
WHO's portal providing access to data and analysis for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analysis for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programs and provides links to supporting information.
State of the World's Children
UNICEF annual publication, provides overview statistics on nutrition, education, economic, social, and health issues affecting children worldwide and treats a single issue in depth: girls, education and development (2004), child participation (2003), leadership (2002), early childhood (2001), education (1999), nutrition (1998), child labor (1997), children in war (1996).