Skip to main content
Skip to Library Help widget

Journalism

Research resources for Journalism students

Handbooks & Stylebooks

For additional style manuals, search enter "Journalism Style Manuals" in the Onesearch search box and submit search. Select the “Advanced Search” link at top right. In the drop down menu under "searching for" select "subject." From the material type drop down, select "books" and/or "electronic books."

Biographical Research

For books by or about specific people, enter the name of the person in Onesearch and submit search. Select the “Advanced Search” link on the top right. In the drop down menu under "searching for" select "Subject" or “Author.” From the material type drop down menu, select "books."

To search for collections of biographies by type of person or profession, search OneSearch using the person’s name or profession and biography, for example: politician and biography. Submit search. Select “books” under “Resource Type” in the left column.

The Biography Index (Wilson) covers biographical information from more than 2,700 English-language periodicals; as well as books, autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction, drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews.

Directories

ABYZ Newspapers & News Media Guide

Gale Directory Library: Online access to directories: Brands and their Companies; Business Rankings Annual; Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory; Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.; Market Share Reporter; and Scholarships, Fellowships & Loans. 

Newspapers in Latin America

Ulrichsweb.com (Ulrich's Periodicals Directory provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types published worldwide, including basic circulation data and publisher information)

Who Owns the News Media, The State of the News Media (Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism)

Who Owns What: Columbia Journalism Review ("guide to what the major media companies own")

Encyclopedias

For additional encyclopedias related to journalism, enter "mass media and encyclopedias" and submit search. Select the “Advanced Search” link at top right. From the material type drop down, select "books" and/or "electronic books."

Encyclo (Neiman Journalism Lab)

Sage Knowledge
Includes online access to full-text reference sources such as Encyclopedia of Communication Theory, 21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook, Encyclopedia of Journalism, and Encyclopedia of New Media.

Dictionary of media and communication studies. James Watson, New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
Location: Learning Commons P87.5 .W38 2006

World press encyclopedia: a survey of press systems worldwide, Amanda C. Quick, project editor. Detroit : Gale, c2003.
This comprehensive survey of press and electronic media covers over 200 countries and their systems. Arranged alphabetically by country, entries include overview and background, economic framework, general characteristics, number and type of media, press laws, censorship issues, state-press relations, education and training in journalism, and more.