Alcohol & Drug Abuse Institute Library
University of Washington's Substance Use Screening & Assessment database is "intended to help clinicians and researchers find instruments used for screening and assessment of substance use and substance use disorders. Some instruments are in the public domain and can be freely downloaded from the web; others can only be obtained from the copyright holder." While copies of instruments are not provided, links to contact/availability information are included if known.
APA FAQ/Finding Information About Psychological Tests
APA's (American Psychological Association) guide to locating and finding information on published and unpublished psychological tests and measures. Somewhat lengthy, but contains valuable information.
CSU Stanislaus' Guide to Finding Tests & Measurements in Psychology and Allied Fields
The California State University at Stanislaus Library provides a good online resource to locate psych tests and information about them. Also includes tips for searching various academic databases. Scroll down to find a list of "selected print resources" (i.e., books) that provide copies of tests & instruments.
TIP: Also pay attention to their "print resource guide" under More Strategies for Identifying Tests. Takes you to a helpful PDF for locating books in the FGCU Library Catalog about psych tests & scales using call numbers from the Library of Congress Classification System (which FGCU uses).
Caveat: This guide is created specifically for CSU Stanislaus Library and contains information about books and databases that FGCU Library may not have.
ETS Test Collection
"A database of more than 25,000 commercial and unpublished tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers." Contains information about tests from the early 1900s to present. ETS Test Collection is the largest available compilation of this sort.
SEARCH TIP: Click on "Find a Test" on the left-hand menu to get started.
National Council on Measurement in Education
Official website of NCME, a "professional organization for individuals involved in assessment, evaluation, testing, and other aspects of educational measurement."
SEARCH TIP: Try searching for test information under their menu headings: Resource Center and Publications.
Registry of Scales & Measures
Database of psychological tests, scales, measures, questionnaires, and checklists. "At present, the database includes the most comprehensive list of self-report measures of depression, over 352 indexed to date, including the earliest known psychological measure which was published in 1918. The database includes over 400 clinical scales assessing disorders, such as ADHD, Anxiety, Cognitive Difficulties, Eating Disorders, Gambling, Sleep, Sexual Functioning, Substance Abuse, Suicide and Self Harm, as well as quality of life and medication side effects."
SEARCH TIP: Click on "Find A Scale" in the left hand menu. "Scales and measures can be searched by several parameters, including author, title, year of publication, and topic, as well as by scale and item characteristics."
Wikipedia Webpage on "Psychological Testing"
Provides a good overview and background information on psychological tests. Provides links to description of various tests. Scroll down to References and External Links for further information you can look up.
Caveat: Wikipedia is a free-access internet encyclopedia, and nearly all articles are editable by any user who can access Wikipedia.
