Skip to main content
Skip to Library Help widget

JOUR 480: History of American News Media

Journal Articles

Databases for Locating Scholarly Journal Articles

The list of databases below offers good places to start your research. To see all of the databases the Library offers, visit Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z.
 
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for nearly 4,600 periodicals, including more than 3,900 full-text peer-reviewed journals.  This database offers information in nearly every area of academic study. Allows limiting search results to peer-reviewed scholarly journals. 
 

America: History & Life (EBSCOHost)

Indexes 1,700 journals as well as dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, 1964- present. 

Biography Index Past and Present

Comprehensive biographical resource indexing articles and books, autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction, drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews. Includes over a million article and book citations.

Black Studies Center

Includes 3 resources, the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience which contains commissioned essays detailing the Black Experience and other related materials; and the International Index to Black Periodicals which indexes scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, including full text for many titles; and full text of The Chicago Defender from 1935-1975, an influential black newspaper.

Chicano Database (EBSCOhost)

Indexes all types of material on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present; selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s.

Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost)

Indexes and abstracts over 600 journals and trade publications; includes full text for over 240 journals. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State). Subjects covered include journalism, mass media, communication studies, speech, linguistics, communicative disorders, deaf studies, advertising, and related areas of interest to practitioners and educators in these fields. Dates of coverage vary by journal.

Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest)

Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.

Film & Television Literature Index (EBSCOHost)

Indexes over 350 U.S. and international film and television periodicals, including popular magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications. In addition, selected content is chosen from thousands of additional publications that contain relevant content. Dates of coverage vary.

GenderWatch (ProQuest)

Contains unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With archival material dating back to 1970, GenderWatch is a repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of both the women's movement and major changes in gender roles.

HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index

Indexes more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Many of the citations are linked to full text. Coverage: 500 journals. Time-span: 1970 - present.

General OneFile (Gale)

From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access over 9,000 scholarly journals, and general interest news magazines and newspapers - over half contain full text and images. Search specific keywords using the Advanced Search or browse subjects using the Subject Guide. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. Allows limiting search results to scholarly journals ("peer-reviewed publications").

JStor

JStor provides electronic access to the full text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes 12 classical studies journals, which is good for classical rhetoric research, and other journals of interest to communication studies researchers.

Project MUSE

Project Muse includes full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including journals in film, theatre, and performing arts; classics, language, and music. 

Sage Journals Online

Full text access to journals in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences, including almost 20 communication and media studies journals.

Additional Subject Specific Databases, Publications and Other Resources

African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998 (database) - is an archive of more than 270 historically significant African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Tom & Ethel Bradley Center - has over one million images produced by Los Angeles-based photographers that document the social, cultural and political lives of the diverse communities of Los Angeles and the Southern California region between the 1910s and the present. The archives contain one of the largest collections of African American photographers west of the Mississippi and the most extensive collection in Southern California.

California Eagle, 1943-1951 (journal, microfilm) - is the oldest African-American newspaper. California Eagle was based in Los Angeles.

Chicago Defender, 1910-1975 (historical newspaper) - was was the nation's most influential black weekly newspaper by the advent of World War I, with more than two thirds of its readership base located outside of Chicago.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, 1836-1922 (Library of Congress) - is a website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.

Ethnic News Watch (database) - Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. 

Filipinas, 1994-2010 (periodical) - was a monthly, nationally distributed Filipino American magazine.

Filipino Express, 1994-present (periodical) 

Grito del Sol (English), 1976-1982 (stored periodical) 

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (database) - Digital archive of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, many published bilingually in Spanish and English.

Indian Country Today, 1983-1988 and 1993-2011 (periodical)

KoreAm, 1999-2015 (stored periodical) - was a monthly print magazine in English serving the Asian American community. 

Korea Times, 1990-2001 (periodical) 

La Opinión (Spanish), 1926 (microfilm and database)

La Raza (English), 1970-1973 (stored periodical)

Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005 (periodical) - is a weekly newspaper serving the African-American community.

Northwest Asian Weekly, 1993-present (periodical)

Urban Archives (CSUN)

How To Find Journal Articles:

To see if the University Library subscribes to a journal, select the "journals" link under the OneSearch search box on the homepage. Enter the title of the journal.

To browse a list of the journals specific to journalism, enter "journalism" in the OneSearch search box. Select the "Advanced Search" link on the top right of the page. In the drop down menu under "searching for" select "subject." From the material type drop down menu, select "journals."

University Library Journalism Journals

University Library Communication Journals

University Library Broadcasting Journals