LibGuides: Teacher Curriculum Center Digital Resources: AI for Research and Education

Academic search and summary tools

NOTE: Always defer to your instructor's policies on the use of AI, before using it to assist you with coursework.

The selected list of tools below provide search and summary of research articles and data. Resources identified by the tools may or may not be available through the University Library catalog.

Semantic Scholar (free)
Modeled on the Semantic Scholar Open Research Corpus of over 200 million academic papers covering all academic disciplines. Has FAQ.
Research Rabbit (free)
Modeled on multiple databases but does not currently specify them. In addition to providing a scholarly search service, it utilizes data visualizations to demonstrate relationships between scholarly papers and researchers. Has FAQ.
Elicit (free/paid)
Modeled on the Semantic Scholar Open Research Corpus. Works best for empirical domains with concrete results, less so for specific data questions. Has FAQ.
Perplexity.ai
This is a generative AI tool that gives links to its sources! Perplexity can answer a wide range of questions, from simple factual queries to complex open-ended questions. It can also generate different creative text formats of text content. I can summarize articles and web pages or explore topics in depth with guided AI searches.
Consensus (free/paid)
Modeled on the Semantic Scholar Open Research Corpus of over 200 million academic papers covering all academic disciplines. Best with specific questions, and yes/no questions. Has FAQ.
Scite (paid)
Indexes publishers content and preprint servers for millions of research articles. Offers Chrome browser extension and Assistant. Has FAQ.
ExplainPaper
Upload a paper, highlight confusing text, get an explanation. We make research papers easy to read.

NOTE: AI content can be inaccurate, misleading, or bias. Please review all sources and data referenced by AI tools before using them in your work.

Educational Technology and AI

AI Resources

BackPack Instructive AI product. "A writing assistant for every student and a grading assistant for every instructor…made possible by AI. Packback is the pioneer of Instructional AI. Packback’s mission is to empower every student to be fearlessly curious, develop strong writing skills, and find their unique voice. The Packback “Digital TA” AI powers our award-winning discussion platform, Packback Questions, and our AI writing feedback platform, Deep Dives."
Chat BA AI created presentation based on a prompt.
Chat GPT ChatGPT (Chat Generative Pre-trained Transformer) is a large language model-based chatbot developed by OpenAI and launched on November 30, 2022, that enables users to refine and steer a conversation towards a desired length, format, style, level of detail, and language. Successive prompts and replies, known as prompt engineering, are considered at each conversation stage as a context. (description from Wikipedia)
Claude Claude is an Artificial Intelligence, trained by Anthropic using Constitutional AI to be safe, accurate, and secure — the best assistant for you to do your best work. Claude can process large amounts of information, brainstorm ideas, generate text and code, help you understand subjects, coach you through difficult situations, help simplify your busywork so you can focus on what matters most, and so much more.
CSUN Information Tech AI Page Contains descriptions/definitions of AI and Guidance for use in education, including FAQs, curated list of articles, and sample guidelines for classrooms (higher ed focused, but adaptable).
Elicit Free: Search for research papers Ask a research question and get back a list of relevant papers from our database of 200 million For a Fee: Analyze research papers at superhuman speed Automate time-consuming research tasks like summarizing papers, extracting data, and synthesizing your findings.
ExplainPaper Upload a paper, highlight confusing text, get an explanation. We make research papers easy to read.
Future Tools A searchable list of AI tools, includes link to AI News list of articles pertaining to AI.
Gemini A conversational AI tool by Google to brainstorm ideas, spark creativity, and accelerate productivity.
Magic School AI Educators use MagicSchool to help lesson plan, differentiate, write assessments, write IEPs, communicate clearly, and more.
Perplexity.ai This is a generative AI tool that gives links to its sources! What should I use Perplexity for? Answering questions: Perplexity can answer a wide range of questions, from simple factual queries to complex open-ended questions. It can also generate different creative text formats of text content, like poems, code, scripts, musical pieces, email, letters, etc. Summarizing articles and web pages: Perplexity can provide instant summaries of any article or webpage, highlighting the most important information. Exploring topics in depth: Perplexity's Copilot feature provides a guided Al search experience, allowing users to explore topics in depth and learn new things.

Interactive Presentation Tools

Blooket Similar to Kahoot, can create quizzes. Students do not need to register. Can have up to 609 participants with free account.
EdPuzzle Make online videos interactive.
Kahoot Create interactive quizzes to play with the whole class
Nearpod Makes slide decks interactive
Pear Deck Makes slide decks interactive
Quizlet Create Quizzes for self-study and to gamify learning

Educational AI Tools

AI Resources

Chat BA
AI created presentation based on a prompt.
Packback
Instructive AI product. "A writing assistant for every student and a grading assistant for every instructor…made possible by AI.

Packback is the pioneer of Instructional AI. Packback’s mission is to empower every student to be fearlessly curious, develop strong writing skills, and find their unique voice. The Packback “Digital TA” AI powers our award-winning discussion platform, Packback Questions, and our AI writing feedback platform, Deep Dives."
Chat GPT
ChatGPT (Chat Generative Pre-trained Transformer) is a large language model-based chatbot developed by OpenAI and launched on November 30, 2022, that enables users to refine and steer a conversation towards a desired length, format, style, level of detail, and language. Successive prompts and replies, known as prompt engineering, are considered at each conversation stage as a context. (description from Wikipedia)
Curipod
Plan and deliver interactive lessons on any topic - with help from AI

Scholarly AI search results and full text

Below is an example using Semantic Scholar as the academic search engine for gathering scholarly information.

Query: "Common nutrient deficiencies in the U.S."

The results will show a list of scholarly sources that address the search query. Highlighted are locations within the list that provide access to:

A quotation mark followed by a number indicates the number of citations of the source at the time of your search
"PDF" provides a link to access a full text PDF if available.
A quotation mark followed by "Cite" provides a link to citation examples in multiple formats and styles (MLA, APA, etc.)
Names of authors are listed below each title to assist in locating the full text of the source.

To search full text articles in OneSearch from the University Library webpage, copy and paste the title and an author's name into the search box to see if we have access to that article. If the digital object identifier (DOI) is offered, you may paste that into the search box. If we do not have the article available here or at any CSU campus, please request the article through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. Toconfirm if an article is peer reviewed, locate the article in OneSearch, or search the journal title in Ulrichsweb.