LibGuides: Teacher Curriculum Center Digital Resources: Internet Resources for Curriculum, Lessons, and Professional Development

Librarian

Lisa Cheby

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

818-677-3840

Subjects: Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Elementary Education, Secondary Education, Special Education

Finding the Right Resource: Legend for Codes

To help find the right resource, I've created a few codes you can find after each title:

EL: Elementary Resources
MS: Middle School Resources
HS: High School Resources
ES: Ethnic Studies Resources
*: Materials I Personally Used in my Teaching

General K-12 Interdisciplinary Lesson Resources

Interdisciplinary Curriculum and Lesson Resources

These links provide a broad support for developing lessons/curriculum that can be applied to various grades and subjects. If you are looking specifically for DEI resources and literacy support to enhance your subject area content or are designing interdisciplinary units, you should find support and inspiration there. When appropriate, links go to sections on website for teachers/resources if part of a larger organization website.

Anti-Defamation League (ADL) Education -- MS, HS, CO, ES We provide anti-bias education through professional learning, educational programs, resources and strategies to build and sustain equitable and inclusive environments.
Edsitement, National Endowment for the Humanities Includes Lesson Plans and Teacher's Guides designed by the NEH
Edutopia Education Themed Publication from the George Lucas Educational Foundation. Our Foundation is dedicated to transforming pre-K-12 education so that all students can acquire and effectively apply the knowledge, attitudes, and skills necessary to thrive in their studies, careers, and adult lives. Founded by innovative and award-winning filmmaker George Lucas in 1991, we take a strategic approach to improving education.
Harvard University Graduate School Of Education Educator Resources
Japan House LA Has an extensive physical and digital library. Resource for cultural events in LA.
Learning for Justice (formerly Teaching Tolerance)
Liberated Ethnic Studies Curriculum (ES) This is a sharing of the first draft of an ethnic studies curriculum written by 20 college professors and teachers. This draft was not selected by the CDE as it was, but the authors rebranded their work as the Liberated Ethnic Studies Model Curriculum and created an institute where they are offering seminars and serving as consultants to districts. Salinas Unified and Hayward Unified are among those districts that have adopted it.
Library of Congress
Multicultural Classroom Blog
Multicultural Pavilion : Resources and Dialogues for Equity in Education
New Vision for Public Schools Social Studies Team (NY)
PBS Early Childhood The PBS SoCal Education team has designed educational materials and activities for children with the desire to make learning fun, engaging, and easy to incorporate into their daily routines. Choose from the icons below to find the type of resource your family is looking for.
PBS Kids PK-2 Games and Apps to play with kids to support reading and math literacy. There are also games in other areas such as science, music, feelings, and nature.
PBS Storymaker StoryMaker is a powerful learning platform developed by PBS NewsHour Student Reporting Labs to build the next generation of media creators. You can create transformative educational experiences through video journalism that inspire youth to find their voice and engage in their communities. StoryMaker is built to be relevant and flexible. Our built-in community will give you the supports you need to succeed.
Stanford Program on International and Cross-Cultural Education

Instructional Strategies

ConnectED The California Center for College and Career, Curriculum
The Jigsaw Classroom The Jigsaw Classroom is a cooperative learning technique that reduces racial conflict among school children, promotes better learning, improves student motivation, and increases enjoyment of the learning experience.
Question Formulation Technique Developed by the Right Question Institute, the Question Formulation Technique, or QFT, is a structured method for generating and improving questions. It distills sophisticated forms of divergent, convergent, and metacognitive thinking into a deceptively simple, accessible, and reproducible technique. The QFT builds the skill of asking questions, an essential — yet often overlooked — lifelong learning skill that allows people to think critically, feel greater power and self-efficacy, and become more confident and ready to participate in civic life.
Thinking Maps* Thinking Maps is a set of 8 visual patterns that correlate to specific cognitive processes. They are used across all grades and content areas to build the critical thinking, problem-solving, comprehension, and communication skills necessary for academic success in every domain.
Universal Design for Learning The UDL Guidelines are a tool used in the implementation of Universal Design for Learning, a framework to improve and optimize teaching and learning for all people based on scientific insights into how humans learn. Learn more about the Universal Design for Learning framework from CAST. The UDL Guidelines can be used by educators, curriculum developers, researchers, parents, and anyone else who wants to implement the UDL framework in a learning environment. These guidelines offer a set of concrete suggestions that can be applied to any discipline or domain to ensure that all learners can access and participate in meaningful, challenging learning opportunities.

Educational Technology and AI

AI Resources

BackPack Instructive AI product. "A writing assistant for every student and a grading assistant for every instructor…made possible by AI. Packback is the pioneer of Instructional AI. Packback’s mission is to empower every student to be fearlessly curious, develop strong writing skills, and find their unique voice. The Packback “Digital TA” AI powers our award-winning discussion platform, Packback Questions, and our AI writing feedback platform, Deep Dives."
Bard A conversational AI tool by Google Collaborate with Bard to brainstorm ideas, spark creativity, and accelerate productivity.
Chat BA AI created presentation based on a prompt.
Chat GPT ChatGPT (Chat Generative Pre-trained Transformer) is a large language model-based chatbot developed by OpenAI and launched on November 30, 2022, that enables users to refine and steer a conversation towards a desired length, format, style, level of detail, and language. Successive prompts and replies, known as prompt engineering, are considered at each conversation stage as a context. (description from Wikipedia)
CSUN Information Tech AI Page Contains descriptions/definitions of AI and Guidance for use in education, including FAQs, curated list of articles, and sample guidelines for classrooms (higher ed focused, but adaptable).
Elicit Free: Search for research papers Ask a research question and get back a list of relevant papers from our database of 200 million For a Fee: Analyze research papers at superhuman speed Automate time-consuming research tasks like summarizing papers, extracting data, and synthesizing your findings.
ExplainPaper Upload a paper, highlight confusing text, get an explanation. We make research papers easy to read.
Future Tools A searchable list of AI tools, includes link to AI News list of articles pertaining to AI.
Perplexity.ai This is a generative AI tool that gives links to its sources! What should I use Perplexity for? Answering questions: Perplexity can answer a wide range of questions, from simple factual queries to complex open-ended questions. It can also generate different creative text formats of text content, like poems, code, scripts, musical pieces, email, letters, etc. Summarizing articles and web pages: Perplexity can provide instant summaries of any article or webpage, highlighting the most important information. Exploring topics in depth: Perplexity's Copilot feature provides a guided Al search experience, allowing users to explore topics in depth and learn new things.

Interactive Presentation Tools

Blooket Similar to Kahoot, can create quizzes. Students do not need to register. Can have up to 609 participants with free account.
EdPuzzle Make online videos interactive.
Kahoot Create interactive quizzes to play with the whole class
Nearpod Makes slide decks interactive
Pear Deck Makes slide decks interactive
Quizlet Create Quizzes for self-study and to gamify learning

Media Literacy & Information Literacy

Center for Media Literacy* -- MS, HS A pioneer in its field, the Center for Media Literacy (CML) is an educational organization that provides leadership, public education, professional development and evidence-based educational resources nationally and internationally. Dedicated to promoting and supporting media literacy education as a framework for accessing, analyzing, evaluating, creating and participating with media content, CML works to help citizens, especially the young, develop critical thinking and media production skills needed to live fully in the 21st century media culture. The ultimate goal is to make wise choices possible.
Civic Online Reading -- HS Students are confused about how to evaluate online information. We all are. The COR curriculum provides free lessons and assessments that help you teach students to evaluate online information that affects them, their communities, and the world.
Copyright & Creativity * -- EL, MS, HS These materials aim to provide accessible and practical information about copyright – its protections, its limitations, and its role in encouraging creativity. Rather than just emphasizing what copyright prohibits, the goal here is to offer useful and positive information about what copyright allows and how students can successfully navigate and rely on copyright in their own roles as creators. It is important to note that these materials focus on copyright in the United States. Other countries have similar frameworks, but their rules may differ on certain concepts such as fair use.
KQED Teach Medial Literacy -- EL, MS, HS Bring Media Literacy and Media Making to Your Teaching Enroll now in FREE self-paced online courses with step-by-step videos and hands-on activities. Brought to you by public media station KQED, an NPR and PBS member station.
Media Literacy Resources from CDE This is a site curated by the CA Dept of Education for resources to teach media literacy per State Law. Use the grey tabs in the middle to find resources by type.
New Literacy Project The News Literacy Project is a nonpartisan education nonprofit building a national movement to create a more news-literate America. NLP is the nation’s leading provider of news literacy education.
Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers by Mike Caufield Open access book on media literacy and lateral reading

Reading and Literacy Support

95 Percent Group
Center for Media Literacy* A pioneer in its field, the Center for Media Literacy (CML) is an educational organization that provides leadership, public education, professional development and evidence-based educational resources nationally and internationally. Dedicated to promoting and supporting media literacy education as a framework for accessing, analyzing, evaluating, creating and participating with media content, CML works to help citizens, especially the young, develop critical thinking and media production skills needed to live fully in the 21st century media culture. The ultimate goal is to make wise choices possible.
DIBELS: Dynamic Indicators of Basic Early Literacy Skills
Equity Literacy Institute
Heggerty Phonemic Awareness & Phonics Instruction
Reading Diversity Traditionally, tools that aid text selection have focused on quantitative and qualitative measures like complexity, word and sentence length, cohesion, language features and knowledge demands. But these tools do not include diversity and representation, critical literacy, or reader and task as part of the selection criteria. Reading Diversity is different. This model promotes a multi-dimensional approach to text selection that prioritizes critical literacy, cultural responsiveness and complexity. We have designed two versions of the Reading Diversity model as two editable PDF tools educators can download, complete, save and share.
Reading League The Reading League is a nonprofit organization with the mission to advance the awareness, understanding, and use of evidence-aligned reading instruction.
UF Literacy Institute Toolbox The UFLI Foundations Toolbox contains all the lesson resources to accompany the lesson plans provided in the UFLI Foundations manual. (Don’t have a manual yet? Click here to order one) Every lesson has companion resources that will help you implement the lessons efficiently, effectively, and consistently. Some of the companion lesson resources you will find below include: Lesson slide decks (in PowerPoint and Google Slide formats) Decodable passages Homework sheets Games and activities for additional practice
Univ of FL Literacy Institute (UFLI) Foundations Toolbox The UFLI Foundations Toolbox contains all the lesson resources to accompany the lesson plans provided in the UFLI Foundations manual. (Coming soon to the TCC print collection) Every lesson has companion resources that will help you implement the lessons efficiently, effectively, and consistently.

Special Education Internet Sources

Responding to Current Events

This section will contain general and specific resources for addressing and supporting all students through challenging local or global events.

English Language Arts & Development Internet Sources

California Association for Bilingual Education OUR VISION Biliteracy, Multicultural Competency, & Educational Equity for All. OUR MISSION To support the vision of biliteracy, multicultural competency, and educational equity for all students, we will embody our shared values by implementing priorities, initiatives, and services designed to increase California’s capacity to create caring and highly effective learning environments that promote multiliteracy and support English learners and all diverse populations to graduate college, career, and globally prepared to live their lives to their fullest potential.
CATESOL: California Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages CATESOL, founded in 1969, is a nonprofit organization open to anyone concerned with the teaching of English as a second or foreign language, standard English as a second dialect, or bilingual education.
Center for Applied Linguistics - K-12 The mission of the Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL) is to promote language learning and cultural understanding by serving as a trusted source for research, resources, and policy analysis. Through its work, CAL seeks solutions to issues involving language and culture as they relate to access and equity in education and society around the globe.
National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition and Language Instruction Announcements on this page are generally from the Department of Education's Office of English Language Acquisition (OELA), or other relevant government agencies and offices, about concerns facing multilingual learner education.
Poetry Center | The University of Arizona
U.S. Office of English Language Acquisition (Administers programs for LEPs and Title III)

Health

Math & Science Internet Sources

Brilliant | Learn Interactively | Math Games Guided interactive problem solving that's effective and fun. Master concepts in 15 minutes a day.
Gizmos The world's largest library of math and science simulations.
Illuminations
MathStar
National Center of Teachers of Mathematics
National Science Teachers Association- Teacher resources
PORTS (Parks Online Resources for Teachers and Students)® Program

Music

National Association for Music Education NAfME is a collaborative community that supports music educators and advocates for equitable access to music education. Read about our 2022 Strategic Plan and our vision to be an association where all people are heard, seen, and feel they belong throughout their lifelong experiences in music.

Physical Education, Kinesiology, & Dance Internet Sources

Social Studies Internet Sources

Links go to sections on website for teachers/resources if part of a larger organization website. See also the tab for primary sources on the left and above interdisciplinary sources above.

For more resources, see California Department of Education History-Social Science Teaching Resources Page, which also has a list of internet resources

American Historical Association, Teaching & Learning tab
Anti-Defamation League (ADL)
Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government
Bringing History Home
California 3Rs project
California Council for Economic Education
California Council for the Social Studies Instructional Support-- ES
California History-Social Science Project, UC Davis
CalMatters for Learning (Resources for Educators)
Center for Civic Education
Constitutional Rights Foundation
Council for Economic Education
CSUN Bradley Center Curriculum: Conflict and Culture in Central and Latin America Curriculum -- ES
Edsitement, National Endowment for the Humanities
Facing History and Ourselves (Teacher Resources) * ES We believe the bigotry and hate that we witness today are the legacy of brutal injustices of the past. We help teachers and students face our collective histories and understand how they inform attitudes and behaviors in today's world.
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
History Matters
iCivics
Los Angeles County Office of Education History Social Science Curriculum Support
National Archives Education Resources
National Council for the Social Studies – Resources – Lessons K-12
New Vision for Public Schools Social Studies Team (NY)
Reading Like a Historian/Stanford History Education Group
Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media
Teachinghistory.org (National History Education Clearinghouse)
Teach US History / American Antiquarian Society
UCI (UC Irvine) History Project Curriculum & Resources
UCLA History-Geography Project Resources & Lessons
Zinn Education Project: Teaching People’s History

Visual & Performing Arts Internet Sources

Art of Los Angeles CSUN Lib Guide Here you will find information and resources to help you conduct research on art, art history and architecture in LA and surrounding areas. Don't forget to check out the general subject guide for Art for more information about conducting art and art history research, finding images and citing your sources.
Artscan a searchable clearinghouse of the latest state policies supporting education in and through the arts from all 50 states and the District of Columbia
LACMA Resources for Teachers Join LACMA for in-person and virtual professional development programs and explore a wide variety of classroom resources that support student creativity, critical thinking, and interdisciplinary learning. Programs and resources continue to be added throughout the year, so check back often to see what is new!
National Gallery of Art The National Gallery of Art, founded as a gift to the nation, serves as a center of visual art, education, and culture. Our collection of more than 150,000 paintings, sculpture, decorative arts, photographs, prints, and drawings spans the history of Western art and showcases some of the triumphs of human creativity.
A Noise Within Our education programs are designed to increase access to live classical theatre and to enhance the classroom learning experience for both teachers and students. The ANW Education program experience includes: tickets at a reduced cost, post-show discussions with the artists, California standards-compliant study guides, and optional in-class workshops. ANW has variety of ways to help you engage your students in the arts!