Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

Family and Consumer Sciences

Choose the Right Sources

When choosing resources for your assignment, consider:

  • Assignment requirements—what does the professor want you to cite?
  • Learn about your topic -- You may want to use a reference book like an encyclopedia (print or online) to start out with if you don't have a clear understanding of your topic yet.
  • Time—the more current the topic, the less will be found in scholarly journals or books, which take longer to get published. Recent events will be covered on the Internet, in newspapers and magazines, as well as in the media.
  • Depth of coverage and/or the topic—scholarly journals and books cover topics in more depth than magazines and newspapers. Some topics are not covered by the popular press, e.g., research that would not be of interest to the average consumer.
  • Quality of the resource
Type of Information You Need Try These Resources
Does your topic cover current events? Newspapers, magazines, Internet
Do you need general information on a specific topic, written in a non-specialist style?
Newspapers, magazines, Internet
Do you need in-depth information on a specific topic, written for the college student and above by authorities in the field? Scholarly journals
Do you need more detail and/or has the topic been written about for awhile? Books
Do you need an overview, quick facts, statistics on a topic? Reference books, Internet

What's a Scholarly Article?

Finding Scholarly Articles Using Ulrich's

Refereed/Peer Reviewed Sources

Refereed articles are peer-reviewed articles. When you are searching in OneSearch, you are more likely to find both magazine articles and refereed/peer-reviewed articles in journals (not magazines or conference proceedings). To be absolutely sure if something is refereed, you can use Ulrich's to check if a journal is peer-reviewed/refereed:

Journal information displayed in Ulrich's showing the Refereed field

Finding Articles in Magazines, Journals and Newspapers

Pick a database recommended for your subject from the dropdown menu on the Databases A-Z webpage and then search using keywords.

To locate the full text of an article:

  • If full-text is available in the database, click on the link to full text (HTML or PDF).
  • If full-text isn't available in the database, click the Find Text button to see if we have access to the article in another database or in print in the library
  • If no Find Text button is available or you didn't find the article through our databases, search for the magazine or journal title to see if the library has access.
  • If the full text isn't available through the Library, you can request an Interlibrary Loan for the article(s) that you need. However, you must allow about two weeks for this!

Course Reserves

Watch this video to see if your professor placed the course textbook on reserve in the library. Use OneSearch to search Course Reserves to locate both print locations or links for electronic materials.

OneSearch

Watch this video to learn how to navigate OneSearch to find materials available through the University Library.

CSU Resource Sharing

Is the book you want already checked out? Or perhaps the library does now already own a copy? Watch this video to learn how to use OneSearch to request an item available through another CSU library.

Finding Videos

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources