Civic and Community Engagement

• 2010 Census Downloadable Files 2010 census data available for users who want to download the set of detailed tables for all of the geographies within a state and run their own analysis and rankings.

 

• American Religion Data Archive (ARDA) Includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).

 

• California Department of Finance Demographic Research Unit   California's primary and most comprehensive source for economic and demographic data, tracking the trends of the State of California, its businesses and people.

 

• Child Welfare These resources provide State and national statistics on child and family well-being indicators, such as health, child care, education, income, and marriage.

 

• China Data Online Provided by the University of Michigan, access is limited to one user at a time. Available in both Chinese and English. Includes yearly macro-economic statistics, monthly macro-economic statistics, and historical statistics (1949-) from China.

 

• Current Population Survey (CPS) Primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States

 

• Data.gov   Public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.

 

• DataLA Open data portal for the city of Los Angeles

 

• DataPlace.org Create thematic maps based on data from the US Census (demographic, economic, housing, and social characteristics, etc.).

 

• Disability Statistics Major statistical data sources on disability

 

• Enron e-mail corpus   Database of over 600,000 emails generated by 158 employees of the Enron Corporation and acquired by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission during its investigation after the company's collapse.

 

• Fedstats Provide access to official statistical information available to the public from the Federal Government. Covers over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.

 

• General Social Survey (GSS) A standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest, that has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.

 

• Human Development Report (UNDP) Data related to development: literacy, health, poverty, income inequality, climate change, crime, population, and more.

 

• ICPSR & Archive Contains useful datasets for political and social research. Download options include ASCII, ASCII+, SAS, SPSS, Stata. Note: Creating a MyData account is free, necessary to download most data from ICPSR, and does not require you to be associated with an ICPSR member institution.

 

• Links to World Statistics Click on "International Statistical Links" to retrieve an A-Z country list with national statistical bureau links attached.

• Mexican Migration Project Gathers social and economic information on Mexican-US migration.

 

• Military and Defense Statistics Military casualty data and Active Duty military/civilian personnel statistics by rank/grade, service totals, service by Region/Country.

 

• Minnesota Population Center Search, customize and download datasets for national and international variables.

 

• National Center for Children in Poverty The National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is the nation’s leading public policy center dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children.

 

• National Centre for Social Research Data and research studies cover all areas of social policy in the UK.

 

• National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates (2013): Information provided by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.

 

• National Survey of Families and Households

 

• Office of Immigration Statistics Compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals, permanent legal residents, naturalized citizens and maps with various demographic characteristics (1996-present).

 

• Oxford Poverty & Human Development Initiative Includes multidimensional poverty index and specific summaries on the results of the MPI analyses in 104 developing nations.

 

• PovcalNet PovcalNet is an interactive computational tool that allows you to replicate the calculations made by the World Bank's researchers in estimating the extent of absolute poverty in the world, including the $1 a day poverty measures.

 

• Statistical Abstract of the United States Statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are included. Also available in print: Census & Demographic Data Room HA202.P7.

 

• United Nations Development Programme UNDP is the United Nations' global development network, an organization advocating for change and connecting countries to knowledge, experience and resources to help people build a better life.

 

• World Development Report Provides a yearly overview of the economic, social, and environmental state of the world. Also provides detailed economic data for most countries, quality of life indicators, and other demographic and environmental information.

 

• World Factbook (CIA) Provides detailed country profile” for most countries in the world. Covers geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Includes country maps.